Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2015, 01:53 AM   #1
kornilios24
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Default Pukachu and the extra level

Hello there,

I have some questions about Pukachu and I'll be glad if you help me.

First of all, what if a helper comes in combat? The extra level can't be claimed then?

If it can be claimed, the munchkins count their level only and if their level is bigger than Pukachu's strength, can I gain the extra level?

If I had equipped a bonus in play (such as Horny Helmet) and now I don't want to use it against Pukachu, can I ignore it and gain the extra level?

I have a helper and we are going to win without bonuses. A third person plays a "side bonus" card (such as Pretty Balloons) to boost our strength. Can he do that so we can't claim the extra level?

And a last question, what happens if Pukachu comes in combat as wandering?

Thanks!

Last edited by kornilios24; 11-05-2015 at 02:30 AM.
kornilios24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 08:47 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Pukachu and the extra treasure

The card says that you must defeat Pukachu without help or bonuses, so all of your help-related questions would be answered with "No, you can't get the extra level."

First thoughts on Pukachu as a Wandering Monster would be you have to defeat all the Monsters with your Level only to get the extra Level, but I want to confer with Andrew about that.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 08:52 AM   #3
Devin Lewis
Munchkin Hireling
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Pukachu and the extra treasure

Lets see:

You cannot gain an extra level if you have someone help you.

See above.

You can choose to not use your equipped items against it.

If you have a helper, you don't get the extra level. Other players can't sabotage you gaining an extra level from Pukachu. As long as you can beat him with just your level, you can get the extra level.

Nothing special. If you can beat Pukachu and the other monster(s) without bonuses or getting help, you'd get two levels for Pukachu and whatever levels the other monster(s) give.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin Hireling, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 03:58 PM   #4
kornilios24
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Default Re: Pukachu and the extra treasure

Ok, that's better now. I was confused and I thought that I had two options (no help or no bonus). Anyway, thank you for your quick answers!
kornilios24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 09:33 PM   #5
CMJ34
 
Join Date: May 2017
Default Re: Pukachu and the extra treasure

Are bonuses that you can't use to obtain the extra level considered to be your equipped cards ( armor, headgear, etc.) or are they the +3, +5, etc. cards that you would play during a combat to boost yourself or the monster? Or both?
CMJ34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 11:07 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Pukachu and the extra treasure

If you must use ANY bonuses other than your Level, you cannot claim the extra level for killing Pukachu.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 05:05 AM   #7
orcbgone
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Texas
Default Re: Pukachu and the extra treasure

So then the unanswered question of your opponent being able to block you from the extra level by forcing a one-shot item on you is a viable play? We don't get to play base Munchkin much anymore but I'll remember that lol.
orcbgone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
extra level, no bonuses, pukachu, wandering monster

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.