Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2017, 01:40 PM   #1
rahnefan
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default Mind Games

(Adventure Time)

Mind Games allows you to discard one card to force a player of the opposite gender to help you in combat, "but they get first pick of the treasure." We don't understand this. We saw one thread on another site that addresses the inherent conflict between being forced to help vs. getting a reward but did not find a real resolution. How many treasures does the helper get, IF ANY, especially when there is more than one?

In my mind, being forced means you get zero treasure unless I feel merciful; but on second thought, if it were that simple then there'd have been no need to say anything about treasure on this card. We're stuck.
rahnefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 11:38 AM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Mind Games

Card text trumps rules. Yes, ordinarily if you were somehow able to force somebody to help you, you wouldn't have to offer them a reward, but since this card evidently spells out that you MUST, then what the card says is what you have to do. You are still forcing them, as they might very well not want to help you even for that first pick of the treasure.
Mister Ed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 01:19 PM   #3
rahnefan
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default Re: Mind Games

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
Card text trumps rules. Yes, ordinarily if you were somehow able to force somebody to help you, you wouldn't have to offer them a reward, but since this card evidently spells out that you MUST, then what the card says is what you have to do. You are still forcing them, as they might very well not want to help you even for that first pick of the treasure.
Thanks. Makes sense. But how many is "first pick?" I'm thinking since it does not specify, it should be taken as a singular -- IOW they'd get only one. But in that case they'd get all the treasure if there is only one to be had!

Last edited by rahnefan; 03-06-2017 at 01:28 PM. Reason: grammar
rahnefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 01:29 PM   #4
Devin Lewis
Munchkin CCG Designer
 
Devin Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin
Default Re: Mind Games

In this case first pick is one treasure. If the monster only had one treasure to give, it goes to the person you forced to help you.
__________________
Devin Lewis || Munchkin CCG Designer, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin
Devin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 01:33 PM   #5
rahnefan
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default Re: Mind Games

Thank you!
rahnefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.