Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2017, 09:56 PM   #1
Shinigami
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Default Is it valid to get out of a trade based on wording?

Here is something that happened a while back that seriously left me a bit salty for a bit.

A player was going up against a monster and someone played a mate card. I had a card that would make the monster go away immediately ending the round. Or so I thought at the time. I thought that if I made the main monster go away, the mate would follow. It was decided that the mate would stay.

Now, the problem is that I had cut a deal with the person fighting the monster and mate. I told him that if he gave me the item his hireling had equipped I would use my card to end the combat by making the monster go away. He said, "sure, ill give it to you after the fight is done".

See where im going with this? I made the main monster go away, but the mate stayed. Other people played other cards so he still wasn't able to beat the mate by itself. So he used the hireling to run away thus destroying the item he promised me for playing my card. Is this legal?
Shinigami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 10:01 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Is it valid to get out of a trade based on wording?

First, you were wrong: Mate copies a monster, but it is itself a distinct monster that must also be defeated. Making one go away doesn't affect the other (which is why we advise discarding the Mate card for simplicity).

That said, your opponent's play was legal. He's allowed to use any resources at hand during the fight or Run Away phase, even if those resources were promised to someone else. Yes, it sucks that he did that, but it was a legal play and probably a smart one, too.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 10:13 PM   #3
Shinigami
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Default Re: Is it valid to get out of a trade based on wording?

Fair enough. Thanks for the quick reply.
Shinigami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.