Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2017, 09:20 AM   #1
Faith
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Default Very puzzling question

I have a question about doppleganger.

If your fighting a battle and have doppleganger on and someone steals a hat from you does your doppleganger lose strength with you?

I believe yes because on the card it says that the doppleganger is your exact duplicate.

(Or cursed that hat off which is what I did in the game.)

Last edited by Faith; 02-09-2017 at 11:30 AM.
Faith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 09:25 AM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Very puzzling question

If you lose strength during the battle, so does the doppelgänger. That said, you cannot steal from somebody who is in combat, so you would have to make them lose the headgear some other way, like a Curse.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 03:24 PM   #3
Anh-Dalan
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Behind the moon
Default Re: Very puzzling question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
If you lose strength during the battle, so does the doppelgänger.
is that official? I'm asking because I'd argue "Doppleganger" copies the player in that moment when it's played. If the player(s) loses or gains combat strength afterwards it counts towards or against the combined combat strength.
Anh-Dalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 03:49 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Very puzzling question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anh-Dalan View Post
is that official? I'm asking because I'd argue "Doppleganger" copies the player in that moment when it's played. If the player(s) loses or gains combat strength afterwards it counts towards or against the combined combat strength.
It's official because otherwise it takes obnoxious bookkeeping to remember what the Dopp's strength was. Easier just to compute yours at any time and double it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 12:58 AM   #5
Anh-Dalan
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Behind the moon
Default Re: Very puzzling question

thanks for clarifying!
Anh-Dalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.