Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2017, 06:45 AM   #1
Ghornet
 
Ghornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mechanicsburg PA
Default 2 Marvel Munchkin questions

The Klaw says everybody's deafened and you can't ask for help. A couple in my group know sign language, is it an allowed way around the restriction>


One of the dungeons says you have to get to level 14 to win and that levels 10-13 must be won by combat. Can you buy level 14? We said no that the winning level must always be won in combat, Are we right?
__________________
Murphy was an optimist!
Munchkin 1,2,3, 4,7b
Bites 1&2, Munchkin Fu 1&2, Star 1-3, Super Munckin 1&2
Game Changers & Holiday Suprise
Ghornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:50 AM   #2
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: 2 Marvel Munchkin questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghornet View Post
The Klaw says everybody's deafened and you can't ask for help. A couple in my group know sign language, is it an allowed way around the restriction>
Cute and clever, but that's not the spirit of the law, as it were. It's just fluff text to add color to the core part of the card "you can't ask for help." So, no; you can't ask for help.

Quote:
One of the dungeons says you have to get to level 14 to win and that levels 10-13 must be won by combat. Can you buy level 14? We said no that the winning level must always be won in combat, Are we right?
You are partially correct. No, you can't buy the winning level. That part is correct (and explicitly in the rules), but there are other legal ways to get the winning level that do not involve combat. They are rare, and might require other sets, but they do exist.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:58 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: 2 Marvel Munchkin questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by GranitePenguin View Post
You are partially correct. No, you can't buy the winning level. That part is correct (and explicitly in the rules), but there are other legal ways to get the winning level that do not involve combat. They are rare, and might require other sets, but they do exist.
Unless a card or rule explicitly says it may give you the winning level, it cannot. That is the overall metarule that you should keep in mind.

Mixing sets is explicitly off-topic for the 101 forum and I would ask people not to bring it up in their posts or responses.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.