Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2016, 06:56 PM   #1
Gnome
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA
Default [Basic] Attacking out of close combat with Reach 1

A and B are in close combat, C is one yard away. A is armed with a broadsword (Reach 1). Can he attack C with the sword?
Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 11:50 PM   #2
Dustin
 
Dustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The former Chochenyo territory
Default Re: [Basic] Attacking out of close combat with Reach 1

Yes, at no penalty. You are not striking into a Close Combat.
__________________
My gaming blog: Thor's Grumblings
Keep your friends close, and your enemies in Close Combat.
Dustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 06:13 AM   #3
Gnome
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA
Default Re: [Basic] Attacking out of close combat with Reach 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin View Post
Yes, at no penalty. You are not striking into a Close Combat.
Striking into Close Combat can be done at a -2 penalty regardless of weapon Reach (B547).
Striking while in close combat, according to B391, cannot be done at all unless you have a Reach C weapon.
But I'm trying to figure out whether you can strike out of close combat.

Do you have a page reference or Krommquote that supports your interpretation? It may very well be correct, but it's not at all clear to from the rules as written.
Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 06:54 AM   #4
kdtipa
 
kdtipa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Default Re: [Basic] Attacking out of close combat with Reach 1

I think the lack of specifically addressing the situation should be taken to mean that yes you can attack the person 1 yard away. Unless there are penalties to normal actions for being squished into a single hex with another person.
kdtipa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 10:47 AM   #5
Gnomasz
 
Gnomasz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Poland
Default Re: [Basic] Attacking out of close combat with Reach 1

The only caveat I can see in the rules is attacking through an occupied hex, which gives you penalty if your foe might intercept your attack.
__________________
I'm a 6′ Pole. Of course I'm useful!
Gnomasz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 11:06 AM   #6
Gnome
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA
Default Re: [Basic] Attacking out of close combat with Reach 1

I think I may have found the answer to my own question on MA117: "These effects apply to all weapon use, offensive or defensive, while in close combat. It doesn’t matter whether your current target or attacker is in close combat with you! Just having someone in the way is enough to make things awkward."

So I guess by the Basic rules you can't use a Reach 1 weapon on anyone at all if you're in close combat, or by MA you get the penalty if you're in close combat, no matter what.
Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.