Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2016, 10:12 PM   #1
Vantax
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Default Monster & Mate & Mommy = ?

I guess you can break it down to: is the mommy card an enhancer like a +5/+10 and therefore sticks with the monster (as one entity) or is it a second creature?

So:
A) 1x LVL 5 Monster, 1x LVL 5 Monster Mate, 1x LVL 15 Mommy - total: 25
or
B) (1x LVL 5 Monster, 1x LVL 15 Mommy) x2 because Mate - total: 40

Thanks,
V

Last edited by Vantax; 11-06-2016 at 04:02 AM.
Vantax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 06:12 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Monster & Mate & Mommy = ?

Mommy and Mate represent separate Monsters. Mommy doesn't duplicate a Monster's Mate, nor does Mate duplicate a Monster's Mommy.

So, the correct answer, given your scenario is 25 combat strength. Should there be any Monster Enhancers played to the Monster, then both the Mommy and the Mate will duplicate that bonus, of course.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 09:44 PM   #3
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Monster & Mate & Mommy = ?

Quick follow up: since the Mommy is a separate monster, can Mate be played on it, or only on the original monster?
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2016, 09:55 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Monster & Mate & Mommy = ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by offsides View Post
Quick follow up: since the Mommy is a separate monster, can Mate be played on it, or only on the original monster?
Mommy is not a monster card, so I would rule that Mate cannot be played on that (and vice versa).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 02:24 AM   #5
Vantax
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Default Re: Monster & Mate & Mommy = ?

Thanks for the clarification - I am both really happy and impressed with the level of support you guys provide!

Rock on!
Vantax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 10:34 AM   #6
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Monster & Mate & Mommy = ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Mommy is not a monster card, so I would rule that Mate cannot be played on that (and vice versa).
Makes perfect sense to me. Thanks!
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.