Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2005, 02:50 PM   #1
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Optional Specialties?

Okay, I've looked at all of the modifiers for skills and I may just be missing something, but I can't figure out an easy way to do an optional specialty. Example: A PC wants to know Organic Chemistry. Since Chemistry is an IQ/H skill, Chemistry (Organic) should be an IQ/A skill.

Is there a way to do this, short of using the Full Edit window and manually changing the difficulty of the skill?
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 03:17 PM   #2
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Not currently. Eventually there will be an option (checkbox or something) but currently there isn't. You also have to be careful with defaults since any skill that defaults from an Optional Specialty needs to do so at an extra -2 penalty.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 11:41 PM   #3
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Okay, I've tried every convoluted @formula and other fix to make this work on my own, but I'm giving up. Armin, I hope you've got this on your plate, because optional specializations are a core 4th Edition rule and I know that my players take a LOT of them to better match their character concepts.

(And no, I'm not trying to rush you -- just making sure that it's on The List.)
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 10:45 AM   #4
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev_Pee_Kitty
Okay, I've tried every convoluted @formula and other fix to make this work on my own, but I'm giving up. Armin, I hope you've got this on your plate, because optional specializations are a core 4th Edition rule and I know that my players take a LOT of them to better match their character concepts.

(And no, I'm not trying to rush you -- just making sure that it's on The List.)
Yes, it's on the list. I'm going to try and get that into the next big update.

Armin
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 07:02 PM   #5
Ragabash Moon
 
Ragabash Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev_Pee_Kitty
Okay, I've tried every convoluted @formula and other fix to make this work on my own, but I'm giving up. Armin, I hope you've got this on your plate, because optional specializations are a core 4th Edition rule and I know that my players take a LOT of them to better match their character concepts.

(And no, I'm not trying to rush you -- just making sure that it's on The List.)
Agreed, and one thing to be sure to do (even if it's a "later" fix) is to somehow allow ANY skill to be specialized, because my friends and I do a house rule that (pending GM permission for the speciality of course) you are not limited to Mental only (still has to be at least A diff)... So you can take say Erotic Art (Tantric) and it's easy, but then when you try it with someone that's wanting or using Kama Sutra techniques... you're a a disadvantage. Unless I guess we could just do it the current way for our house rule and manually modify the skill difficulty lol
Ragabash Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 09:28 AM   #6
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Okay, how exactly do I enter an optional speciality in manually? Is there any way to get the default for the general skill to work correctly (short of modding the datafile)? I've tried changing the Default in Full Edit but it doesn't seem to work.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 12:52 PM   #7
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

The only change you can make to the skill itself is to change its difficulty, which can be done in the Full Edit Window.

However, that does not change any defaults, because defaults are a feature of the other skills which default to it! So there's nothing you can do to your Detect Lies skill to change how Body Language defaults off of it, as that's a part of the Body Language writeup.

The only possible way I've found to make defaults work and still get your specialization bonus is to increase the difficulty of the skill by one level, so you're buying it at one level lower than you'd have to, and then to add a conditional() note that you get +2 for your specialization. Obviously, this doesn't work for VH skills, which is a huge drawback, but otherwise, it's close.

We really need this addressed in the program itself.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 03:38 PM   #8
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rev_Pee_Kitty
We really need this addressed in the program itself.
Yesterday, I implemented a means of having GCA create an optional specialty based on an existing skill, or a simple check box in the Simple Edit window to turn any skill into an Optional Specialty. I also added code so that if a skill is marked as an optional specialty, GCA will take an additional -2 off of the level when other skills try to default from it.

Assuming these changes pass muster in beta, we should see this in the next update.

Armin
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 03:41 PM   #9
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Cool beans.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:42 PM   #10
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Optional Specialties?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armin
Assuming these changes pass muster in beta, we should see this in the next update.
Wow, that was faster than I expected! Thanks for addressing that, Armin!
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.