Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2016, 10:09 PM   #1
josh_dog2
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Default "Miraculous Moop" Card (Moop's Monster Mashup)

The card states "The munchkins must be losing by at least 10 points at the moment you play Miraculous Moop. The munchkins automatically win that fight. This cannot give a munchkin the winning level. Usable once only."

Tonight we were playing and a player was at level 9. Played a monster, then a wondering monster plus another monster. At that point he was way beyond losing by 10 and played this card.

I argued the card cannot be played at all because he would get the winning levels. Therefore he would have to deal with the monsters in a different way. He argued the card could be played but that the levels would just not count and he would remain at level 9, while taking all of the treasures.

Could someone provide some clarification to the wording of this card?
josh_dog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 12:04 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: "Miraculous Moop" Card (Moop's Monster Mashup)

You can never decide not to take levels from a fight. The card was not playable.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 12:22 AM   #3
Damon Griffin
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Antonio, TX
Default Re: "Miraculous Moop" Card (Moop's Monster Mashup)

Ah. Good to know. I tried something almost identical this past weekend. I was at Level 8, losing by less than 10, played a Mate card that doubled the value of my opponent, then finished with Miraculous Moop. The card says I couldn't get the winning level, but didn't say I couldn't get any levels, so I advanced to Level 9.

So, won't be doing that again.
Damon Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.