Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2016, 06:21 PM   #1
spqr1337
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Powers on GCA

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to do Geralt of Rivia in GCA, but I can not to put the powers (Sign) in GCA. Please, how can I put powers (with details) in GCA?

Thank You.
spqr1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 06:59 AM   #2
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Powers on GCA

I moved this thread into the correct forum. You're more likely to get a detailed answer here.

However, I'm not sure if I understand your question. A "power" is just a collection of:

1. A "power Talent," which is usually a custom advantage that costs 5 points/level, and

2. One or more "abilities," which are just advantages with the "power modifier" -- a special limitation, like (Magical, -10%) or (Divine, -10%).

You can make #1 by choosing _New Power Talent in the Advantages list, and you make #2 by choosing your advantages and then adding the power modifier as a limitation.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:55 AM   #3
Stormcrow
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ronkonkoma, NY
Default Re: Powers on GCA

And if you want to group those abilities together, you can create a container item and make the abilities children of the container.
Stormcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 06:05 AM   #4
kmunoz
 
kmunoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Default Re: Powers on GCA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormcrow View Post
And if you want to group those abilities together, you can create a container item and make the abilities children of the container.
How do you make a container?
__________________
Natural Encyclopedia: 660 GURPS bestiary entries
It Came from the Forums: A Community Bestiary with 160 entries
kmunoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 08:25 AM   #5
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: Powers on GCA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmunoz View Post
How do you make a container?
Right Click on a trait and select "Parent -> Make Parent"

You can then select traits you want to put in the container and Right Click on them and select "Child -> Make Child"

Alternatively, add the trait "_New Parent Item" to the character; this trait is automatically a container trait of the appropriate type and can server as a generic/blank container to add other traits into.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 08:48 AM   #6
kmunoz
 
kmunoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Default Re: Powers on GCA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericbsmith View Post
Right Click on a trait and select "Parent -> Make Parent"

You can then select traits you want to put in the container and Right Click on them and select "Child -> Make Child"

Alternatively, add the trait "_New Parent Item" to the character; this trait is automatically a container trait of the appropriate type and can server as a generic/blank container to add other traits into.
I hate it when they're staring me right in the face. Thanks. ;)
__________________
Natural Encyclopedia: 660 GURPS bestiary entries
It Came from the Forums: A Community Bestiary with 160 entries
kmunoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 11:33 AM   #7
Stormcrow
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ronkonkoma, NY
Default Re: Powers on GCA

My fault; I should have said "parent" instead of "container."
Stormcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:50 PM   #8
kmunoz
 
kmunoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Default Re: Powers on GCA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormcrow View Post
My fault; I should have said "parent" instead of "container."
No worries - I got it all figured out! Then I spotted the Alternate Ability parent item and got giddy with unmitigated power.
__________________
Natural Encyclopedia: 660 GURPS bestiary entries
It Came from the Forums: A Community Bestiary with 160 entries
kmunoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gca, powers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.