Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2016, 12:36 AM   #1
orcbgone
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Texas
Default Forced helpers?

This is a mechanics question rather than a card question:

If you use an effect to force a player to help you, but that effect stipulates that you cannot gain the winning level this way, what happens to the helper if the conditions change?

Example:

Player A is Level 8, he is in combat but cannot win on his own, so he pulls Player B into the fight with him, the monster is worth one Level. And after the helper joins the combat, Player A plays a GUAL card to reach Level 9, thus securing the win.

Boiling this down to basic mechanics, what happens to the helper/combat? Does this bypass the "can't be used to gain the winning Level" clause or can the helper back out? Or something else entirely?
orcbgone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 01:56 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Forced helpers?

If you are using some method to compel help that says you can't use it to gain the winning level, and the combat turns into one for the winning level, your helper is bounced and you are suddenly fighting alone.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 07:20 AM   #3
orcbgone
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Texas
Default Re: Forced helpers?

Ok so sneaky Munchkins get completely iced, thanks again, :)
orcbgone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 07:47 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Forced helpers?

That doesn't mean the now potentially winning player can't ask someone to join him as a helper, he just can't compel someone, and can't have a helper who was initially compelled to join the fight before he was winning.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 10:36 AM   #5
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Forced helpers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If you are using some method to compel help that says you can't use it to gain the winning level, and the combat turns into one for the winning level, your helper is bounced and you are suddenly fighting alone.
what if helper is Elf, and they played enough GUALs to go for a level 9, will they win the game?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
and can't have a helper who was initially compelled to join the fight before he was winning.
really? so, if Played A (level 8) forced Player B to help, then go up for a level 9 (Played B leaves the combat), then lose a level (Player A is again on level 8), Played B can't join the combat even voluntary?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 11:40 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Forced helpers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
what if helper is Elf, and they played enough GUALs to go for a level 9, will they win the game?
If you can't force someone to help you for the winning level, it doesn't matter what the helper's status is.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
really? so, if Played A (level 8) forced Player B to help, then go up for a level 9 (Played B leaves the combat), then lose a level (Player A is again on level 8), Played B can't join the combat even voluntary?
That's not what MunchkinMan meant, I think. I believe he was restating that a helper who was compelled before the fight became for the win isn't stuck in the combat because the fight suddenly became so.

I don't know of many cards that bounce someone out of the fight that don't allow you to ask that same person to help. (I'm sure there are some, so don't feel a need to post counterexamples.) I'll even say that, in the absence of a rule to the contrary, you may ask the same player to help in this situation, as long as you are eligible to ask for help at all.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 03:21 PM   #7
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Forced helpers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If you can't force someone to help you for the winning level, it doesn't matter what the helper's status is.
thanks. what if it is not winning level for you suddenly becomes winning level for helper?

Player A is level 7 and is in combat
Player B is level 8 Elf
Player A uses ability to force Player B to help
Player B plays GUAL, so he/she is level 9 now
Will Player B win the game if they kill the monster?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 03:32 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Forced helpers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
thanks. what if it is not winning level for you suddenly becomes winning level for helper?
I guess you'll have to try to lose the fight.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.