Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 08:58 PM   #1
mejoshua886
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default What happens to the Munchikinomicon when you die?

Does the Munchkinomicon come to you soon enough so that people can take it from you when they loot the body?

And also, can LV1's give up "a level" to get it?
mejoshua886 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:03 PM   #2
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: What happens to the Munchikinomicon when you die?

I think you can get there by connecting the dots in the rules...

On Death:
Your new character appears when the next player begins his turn, and can help others in combat . . .

Munchkinomicon:
If it is in play, it will immediately move to anyone who:
Dies. (It impresses the Munchkinomicon when you die and immediately come back.)


You impress the M'con by dying and coming back. Since you don't come back until the next player begins their turn, you don't get the M'con until after the next player begins their turn.

At least that's my take...I'm sure MM or Andrew will clear it up.

As for L1's giving up a level, no - the "cost" of summoning the book is a level, if you can't pay it then you don't get the book. This is different than the Thief's stealing ability, which has a consequence of losing a level, not a prerequisite of doing so.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:34 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: What happens to the Munchikinomicon when you die?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snarky View Post
I think you can get there by connecting the dots in the rules...

On Death:
Your new character appears when the next player begins his turn, and can help others in combat . . .

Munchkinomicon:
If it is in play, it will immediately move to anyone who:
Dies. (It impresses the Munchkinomicon when you die and immediately come back.)


You impress the M'con by dying and coming back. Since you don't come back until the next player begins their turn, you don't get the M'con until after the next player begins their turn.

At least that's my take...I'm sure MM or Andrew will clear it up.

As for L1's giving up a level, no - the "cost" of summoning the book is a level, if you can't pay it then you don't get the book. This is different than the Thief's stealing ability, which has a consequence of losing a level, not a prerequisite of doing so.
I could swear this was answered earlier. Unfortunately, my allotment of time to look for it has come and gone and someone else will have to hunt it down.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:43 PM   #4
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: What happens to the Munchikinomicon when you die?

Tracked it down - looks like it's still a topic under discussion, with an interim ruling that the M'con goes to you immediately after you die:

http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...13&postcount=8

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
I think there's a critical point that seems to have been made yet everyone's missing. RevBob makes the point that the Munchkinomicon immediately goes to you when you die, and Andrew doesn't challenge that notion. So, until Andrew and I and maybe some or all of the brain trust have had a chance to discuss this, we'll have to assume that the Munchinomicon goes to a player when he dies. However, these are the questions I will pondering: You can't get the Munchkinomicon twice in the same turn, which creates it's own little wrinkle. If you already have it, and you and another player die in the same combat, who gets it? It seems like a die roll is unnecessary, but maybe we don't care. And, if you die alone and already have it, does it become unlootable? Given that you're supposed to get it when you die, it seems like it can't get looted, but at the same time you're not supposed to keep your stuff.

So, like I said, we're going to need to discuss.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 06:38 AM   #5
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: What happens to the Munchikinomicon when you die?

So, is there any decision? What happens with my Munchkinomicon where i'm dying? Can another player take it from my body? Does it comes back to me after that?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.