Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2016, 10:50 AM   #1
Ymar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Default Star Munchkin: complicated situation

I found some powerful combo in this game, but I'm not sure if it's actually working the way i think.
It requires 4 cards: Paradox In A Box, Plot Device, Pink Stamps and Trader.

When it's another players turn and he found a monster when he opened a door, I play Paradox In A Box and it's my turn now and I fight this monster. Paradox In A Box goes on the bottom of the discards. After the fight I use the Plot Device to get Paradox in A Box back, I discard Plot Device. I use Pink Stamps to get Plot Device back and then I use Trading ability and discard any item to get Pink Stamps back to my hand.

Aaand this way I am playing till I have items to get rid off (which I can get by winning fights) or till somebody stops me with Time Wrap.

Is it correct?

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 03-20-2016 at 03:17 PM.
Ymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 03:37 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Star Munchkin: complicated situation

Two quick forum rule notes:

1) Please only post one question (or a set of VERY closely related questions) in a thread. It helps us find them later if we need to refer to discussions about prior rulings.

2) Steve has asked that people not quote card text on the forums.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ymar View Post
I found some powerful combo in this game, but I'm not sure if it's actually working the way i think.
It requires 4 cards: Paradox In A Box, Plot Device, Pink Stamps and Trader.

When it's another players turn and he found a monster when he opened a door, I play Paradox In A Box and it's my turn now and I fight this monster. Paradox In A Box goes on the bottom of the discards. After the fight I use the Plot Device to get Paradox in A Box back, I discard Plot Device. I use Pink Stamps to get Plot Device back and then I use Trading ability and discard any item to get Pink Stamps back to my hand.

Aaand this way I am playing till I have items to get rid off (which I can get by winning fights) or till somebody stops me with Time Wrap.

Is it correct?
This combo breaks down if someone interrupts the chain by playing a Treasure on top of Plot Device or Pink Stamps, or (as you note) by using Time Warp. It also doesn't work if people don't find monsters when they Kick Open The Door.

You also have to question whether you want to make yourself as big a target as repeated use of this combo would warrant -- because if someone were doing this to me over and over, they would be eating every single Trap card I could find.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
combo, munchkin, questions, star

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.