Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2016, 08:15 PM   #1
madhojo
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Discard Rules

So we are playing munchkin and are in a huge disagreement. I'm of the opinion that Cinamon Bun Ally Card may be discarded from your hand and not just in play.

The card says if you discard it you can cancel a curse you just drew. I think that means you can discard him from your hand, but my friends say he must be discarded from play.

Who is correct?

Thanks everyone!
madhojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 08:24 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discard Rules

He must be discarded from play. While he's in your hand, none of his abilities are active.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 08:32 PM   #3
madhojo
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Re: Discard Rules

Then the wording should change. You can not discard from play. You can discard from your hand or your library but you can not discard from play.

Move a card to the discard pile sure, but discard is the wrong term to use
madhojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 08:43 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discard Rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhojo View Post
Then the wording should change. You can not discard from play. You can discard from your hand or your library but you can not discard from play.

Move a card to the discard pile sure, but discard is the wrong term to use
In Munchkin, discarding a card means precisely to move it to the discard pile. It doesn't matter where it comes from. Your interpretation seems a bit strained to me. (Also, I don't know what you mean by "library." That's definitely not a Munchkin game term.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 06:06 AM   #5
madhojo
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Re: Discard Rules

Hahaha so I was a touch drunk and ****** as hell when I posted this.

I'm not a fan of "discard" meaning from play. It should say something like sacrifice your ally to activate its power not discard it. Or at least it should more clearly have allys powers listed in a separate way or have Power: then power description

Magic the Gathering and all lol.

Thank you for the clarification on the rules, much appreciated
madhojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 02:42 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discard Rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhojo View Post
Magic the Gathering and all lol.
We definitely do not want people trying to apply Magic terminology or rules logic to Munchkin. They're very different games and trying to play Munchkin like Magic leads to very, very bad hangovers.

Specifically, we didn't pay one tiny bit of attention to Magic's rules language as we were writing Munchkin.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.