Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2016, 05:30 AM   #1
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Questions on Malign Mirror

1. When a player that currently fights a monster is being cursed with Malign Mirror, does the Curse affect this on-going battle or the player's next one?(The confusion came from the word "next" in the card text)
2. When a helper is involved in the battle does the Curse affect him too, meaning he can't use his weapons/items/one-shots as well?
3. If an one-shot item has been used in the battle before the Curse was played does it return to owner's hand/table or just loses effect and goes to discards after the battle is over?
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 07:37 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Questions on Malign Mirror

Quote:
Originally Posted by evikour View Post
1. When a player that currently fights a monster is being cursed with Malign Mirror, does the Curse affect this on-going battle or the player's next one?(The confusion came from the word "next" in the card text)
The rules say explicitly that if you get hit with a "next combat" Curse while you are in combat, that Curse takes effect immediately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by evikour View Post
2. When a helper is involved in the battle does the Curse affect him too, meaning he can't use his weapons/items/one-shots as well?
The Curse only affects the Cursed player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by evikour View Post
3. If an one-shot item has been used in the battle before the Curse was played does it return to owner's hand/table or just loses effect and goes to discards after the battle is over?
For simplicity's sake, I'm going to say that one-shots played prior to the Curse are still valid. Of course, the Cursed player cannot play any more.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 11:13 PM   #3
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Questions on Malign Mirror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The Curse only affects the Cursed player.
So, can helper use one-shot bonuses or not? Can helper use ability granted bonuses (e.g. Berserking)? Can other players play one-shot to aid Cursed player?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 12:08 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Questions on Malign Mirror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
So, can helper use one-shot bonuses or not?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
Can helper use ability granted bonuses (e.g. Berserking)?
Malign Mirror only affects Items, so either player could use bonuses from other sources.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
Can other players play one-shot to aid Cursed player?
Yes.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 12:39 AM   #5
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Questions on Malign Mirror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
You cannot receive bonuses from Items other than Armor, regardless of source.
And that answer is superannuated?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 01:04 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Questions on Malign Mirror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
And that answer is superannuated?
I think that what you mean is "superseded."

And yes, I'm clarifying that seven-year-old ruling.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 01:23 AM   #7
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Questions on Malign Mirror

Sorry, it's my bad english.
I think "clarifying" mean "make more clear". But I see you annul/cancel your seven-year-old ruling. Seven years ago you said cursed player cannot receive bonus from card played by other Munchkin, now you say he can.

my translator program say "supersede" mean replace/exchange/renew
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.