Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2015, 10:34 PM   #1
Ziciess
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Default Rules Clarification: Necromancer Class Skill

The Necromancer Class card (from the Pathfinder expansion) has a class ability that allows them to discard three cards from their hand to take the first monster in the discards pile and add it to combat (adding the Undead subtype).

The question that is/was being disputed in our game is whether the Necromancer's ability can be used only during your own turn, or during any combat.

The argument for the "only on your turn" interpretation: The exact phrasing used on the card is not "during any combat" as it is on so many other cards, and is instead "during combat" (without the any). If it was meant to allow use during any combat, it would have said so.

The argument for the "during any combat" interpretation: The exact phrasing used on the card is not "during combat on your turn" (or some equivalent statement), but "during combat". If it was meant to be more restrictive, it would have said so.

Requesting clarification.
Ziciess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 05:38 AM   #2
griffinsclaw
 
griffinsclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NY
Default Re: Rules Clarification: Necromancer Class Skill

It's during any combat.
griffinsclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 05:59 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rules Clarification: Necromancer Class Skill

griffinsclaw is correct.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
necromancer, rules clarification

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.