Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2015, 05:12 AM   #1
Spitinfirez
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default Question about ruling

Hello,
Last night me and my friends were playing Munchkin(Basic).
Now suddenly we questioning if you can chain on a curse.
The setup was like this!
I had boots equipped, (only boots) and a friend casts the curse "Lose 1 small item".
Is it possible for me to chain on that and Un-equip that item?(to my bag?)
Also is it possible to equip items while it's not your turn?
Let us say the following.
My friend opens a door and he needs to battle a level 6 monster, he is level 2.
Can he ask players who haven't had a turn yet to help him?(Yes)
But are they able to equip items?
We rulled it that if you aren't able to un-equip items during another player's turn you also can't equip items during another players turn.
Our friend became salty and rage quitted the game (Yes on turn 1)
So what are the real rullings about this?

PS: Sorry for my English, it isn't my mother language!

Last edited by Spitinfirez; 02-21-2015 at 05:13 AM. Reason: Forgot something
Spitinfirez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 08:01 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Question about ruling

Whether an Item is equipped or not won't protect it from a Curse like Curse! Lose 1 Small Item. If the Curse (in this case) was Curse! Lose The Footgear You Are Wearing, you'd have to lose Footgear that you were wearing. However, once you're hit with the Curse, you must resolve the effect first, so you could not decide to unequip the Footgear to avoid the Curse.

You can change whether a carried Item is equipped or unequipped any time that you are not in combat, even if it's not your turn. However, if you want to help in combat, once you join the combat, it's too late to change how your carried Items are configured.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:52 PM   #3
Dealmaker777
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Question about ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
You can change whether a carried Item is equipped or unequipped any time that you are not in combat, even if it's not your turn. However, if you want to help in combat, once you join the combat, it's too late to change how your carried Items are configured.
Does that mean that if somebody is in combat and asks for your help, you can say, just one moment, adjust your equipment by equipping and un-equipping items, and then agree to help if they still want it?
Dealmaker777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
equip, items, ruling

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.