Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2015, 09:34 PM   #1
arafin000
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default Adventure Time Munchkin rules questions

OK so we've had some disputes come up in our games of Adventure Time Munchkin and I thought I'd search online for an answer but I haven't had any luck.

1. Magic Man says when he enters combat, the player(s) in combat suffer the effects of the top 2 curses in the door discards. If a player was going to face him alone, and then other players use cards on him to make that impossible, then that player decides to accept help, should the helping player now have to suffer that effect as well? Or has magic man already entered combat and the joining player is safe from that effect?

2. Also in regards to magic man, when this came up, one of the top curses was to discard your whole hand, and the other was to lose footgear. The player who was facing Magic Man discarded his hand, which had 2 other curses in it. Assuming the helping player who joined has to suffer magic man's effect, should it be the same 2 curses that hit the first player, or should it be the two curses from his hand that are now the top 2 curses in the door discards?

3. if you play prismo's pickles (PP) to make it so you are the one who has kicked down the door, can a player use the demonic wishing eye to get PP from the discards and then use PP again to make it so that he is the one who has kicked down the door?
arafin000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 08:56 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Adventure Time Munchkin rules questions

Effects that take place when a Monster enters combat don't affect players who later join the combat, unless, of course, a specific effect says otherwise. In this case, the general case applies, as the effect is only applied when Magic Man enters the combat. That answer removes the need for your second question.

As for your third question: Prismo's Pickles can only be played just when someone kicks open a door. Once that has happened and Prismo's Pickles has been played, the time when one could play Prismo's Pickles has now passed, so one could't use a card to pick it up and use it right away.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 03:23 PM   #3
m2pt5
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Default Re: Adventure Time Munchkin rules questions

As an extension on the Magic Man question, if a player is in combat and already has a helper, would the curses thrown by a Wandered-in Magic Man hit both players?
m2pt5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 07:43 AM   #4
LociceroA
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Woodbridge, NJ
Default Re: Adventure Time Munchkin rules questions

Per MunchkinMan:

Quote:
the effect is only applied when Magic Man enters the combat
So I would read that as when Wandering Monster (Magic Man) is played, he has now entered the combat.

As far as resolving his effect on multiple people. I usually play in the order combat itself was started so whomever's turn it is resolve curses and wishing rings etc on them, followed by helper.

Last edited by LociceroA; 02-24-2015 at 07:49 AM. Reason: More info and expansion on ideas.
LociceroA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 07:56 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Adventure Time Munchkin rules questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by LociceroA View Post
As far as resolving his effect on multiple people. I usually play in the order combat itself was started so whomever's turn it is resolve curses and wishing rings etc on them, followed by helper.
However, that's not a rule, just a guideline. If the order of events matters and the players cannot reach an agreement, roll off, high roller picks who goes first.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.