Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2015, 05:36 AM   #1
fvr_80
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default Out to lunch AND help me out here

Hello everyone!

About the cards Out to Lunch and Help me Out Here:

Are they use once only or not? I understand that if taken literally then no they are not use once only but it seems kind of unfair to be able to steal equipment or avoid a fight all of the time.
fvr_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 08:13 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Out to lunch AND help me out here

Only certain types of cards can remain in play (e.g., Classes, Races, Items, Hirelings). Almost all other cards are play and discard, especially Door cards. There's no reason to say that these cards are usable once only, since they are not Items, many of which can be used as long as you are carrying them and have them equipped.

However, let's still look at how these cards are worded. Both say you play the card and use the effect. Once the card has been played, how do you play it again? The rules say that cards can't go back into your hand, so there's no way to get them back to your hand so you can play them again to re-use the effect.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 02-21-2015 at 08:18 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:59 AM   #3
fvr_80
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Default Re: Out to lunch AND help me out here

ah! which leads to a major misunderstanding of mine about which cards can be down and which you can carry.

So: Treasure cards (mainly Items) can be either down or carried (and in both cases can be played during a battle or during the round) whereas Door cards can only be carried, except current Class, Race, Curses etc that are down, in play, as long as they are used.. Right ??

(thanks for fast reply!)
fvr_80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:22 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Out to lunch AND help me out here

There is definitely some kind of terminology gap, as I'm confused by what you mean by "down" and "carried." In the game of Munchkin, carried means the exact same thing as in play, however only with respect to Items. You don't carry your Race, you are your Race. Same goes for Class. So, under normal conditions, you can have in play one Race, one Class, any number of small Items, and one Big Item.

So, as I said above, all of the Items you have in play are carried. Some of those Items are used (also known as equipped), some are not (and therefore turned sideways).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:40 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Out to lunch AND help me out here

Also note that Items are specifically cards with a Gold Piece values. You cannot keep Treasures that are not Items in play unless they have a permanent bonus (for instance, Really Impressive Title).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help me out here, out to lunch, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.