Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2015, 11:31 AM   #1
vaughnerich
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default Playing an instant defeat when there's a Mate.

"Mate." A monster is in play and someone else plays Mate on it to create a similarly powered copy. Then lets say the player in combat has some sort of item that lets them instantly defeat a monster. They can choose which monster to defeat. If they choose the original is the Mate monster also defeated cuz it was a copy and theres no monster to copy anymore?
I wonder because I've read if you "Illusion" the original into a different monster the "Mate" copy also changes.

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 01-27-2015 at 11:58 AM.
vaughnerich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:03 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Playing an instant defeat when there's a Mate.

The Mate is a copy, but it represents an individual Monster. So, removing the original won't remove the Mate. That's why we suggest just removing the Mate in those instances, since it will be much easier. Our reasoning is that the Mate will remain and still have the same combat strength it did before the original was removed, so why make life difficult?
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.