Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2015, 05:02 PM   #1
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Charity question

Hello everybody!
I am a new Munchkin player but a really fanatic one!
My question is this: At the end of your turn, when you find yourself with more than five cards on your hand, are you obliged to give some/all of the additional ones to the lowest level player as charity or you can put some/all of them on the table deactivated and wait to activate them later in the game?
Can deactivated items be stolen by a thief?
Thanks!
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 05:34 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Charity question

In the interest of making sure we're talking a common language with respect to game terms: Activated and deactivated aren't terms we use in Munchkin. All Item in play are carried, whether they are used (or equipped), or not. Items that aren't used are turned sideways so that everyone one the table knows that you shouldn't count those Items for a bonus (or to get the special ability of the Item).

As for the Charity phase, you can play Item cards to the table to be carried, used or unused, in order to get your hand down to below the limit. You can also do other things that are legal during your turn, like discarding Item cards (from those you have carried and those you have in your hand) to buy a level, and playing GUALs or Curses. If you can't get your hand size down to the limit (or don't want to) by legally playing cards, you are absolutely compelled to give your excess to the lowest Level player(s) unless you are lowest, or tied for it. In that case, you're compelled to discard your excess.

Thieves can steal any Item that's carried, which means any Item that any other player has in play. As long as the Thief or his target is not in combat, that is.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 06:25 AM   #3
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Re: Charity question

Thank you very much for your answer!
Let me also clarify one other thing:The items on the table that are not used and are turned sideways are items that you cannot normally use? For instance an item that requires a third hand, or a second big item or an item that can be used by another class/race?
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 08:54 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Charity question

Quote:
Originally Posted by evikour View Post
The items on the table that are not used and are turned sideways are items that you cannot normally use? For instance an item that requires a third hand, or a second big item or an item that can be used by another class/race?
That's correct, except for the Big Item. The rules say that you can only carry one Big Item, which means that you can only have one in play. If you want to be able to carry more than one Big Item, you'll need to have some ability which lets you do that (e.g., the Dwarf Race, or a Cheat! card).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 11:35 AM   #5
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Re: Charity question

The items that are turned sideways on the table can be enabled at any time (when it's legal to do so) in your turn (not in combat)?For example can I discard one item that I have in use,to enable another one?
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 02:58 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Charity question

You can not discard Items "just because," as is said in the rules. You can change an Item from unused to used and vice versa, so there's no need to discard an Item if you decide to stop using it. To discard an in-play Item, you must be a) selling it for a level, b) powering a special ability that requires a discard (and doesn't specifically say hand cards are required, like the Cleric's resurrection ability), c) forced to discard a card or Item due to the effects of a Curse or Bad Stuff, or d) dead, and everyone's taken the one card they can take from you corpse (thought, that could be considered part of c).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 03:03 PM   #7
evikour
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Greece
Default Re: Charity question

Thanks a lot!!
evikour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.