Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2017, 10:39 PM   #1
KataH
 
KataH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Default Attack Roll of 3

B326 - Under Attack Roll, 5th paragraph it reads:
"On an attack roll of 3, you do not roll for damage – your blow automatically does the maximum damage. Other critical hits bypass the defense roll, but roll normally for damage".

No where else in the Character book nor the Campaign book does it make this statement. In fact everywhere a critical hit is mentioned it only states that a roll of 3 or 4 is a critical hit and that you role on the Critical Hit table. I have been playing GURPS for years and only now just caught this rule. Either this rule, at B326, is incorrect or ir needs to be added to every location in both books when a critical hit is mentioned.

Any ideas?
__________________
KataH

"Follow me if I advance! Kill me if I retreat! Avenge me if I die!"
KataH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 10:55 PM   #2
Litvyak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

The passage you're quoting is from the Combat Lite rules in Characters. The full combat rules in Campaigns uses a different system for critical hits.
__________________
Blog - Role-ing Solo
Litvyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 10:57 PM   #3
AlexanderHowl
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

It is just a GURPS Lite convention for anyone without the expanded rules in Campaign.
AlexanderHowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 11:05 PM   #4
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

Or who wants to use a simpler critical system.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 11:03 AM   #5
KataH
 
KataH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

This is NOT a quote from GURPS lite. It is from the Basic Characters Book page 326.
__________________
KataH

"Follow me if I advance! Kill me if I retreat! Avenge me if I die!"
KataH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 11:26 AM   #6
Mike Wightman
 
Mike Wightman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

The chapter in the book is called Combat Lite...

Basic Characters Book page 326 is part of the Combat Lite chapter that starts on page B324

Last edited by Mike Wightman; 11-17-2017 at 11:51 AM.
Mike Wightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 11:35 PM   #7
KataH
 
KataH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

Well now I feel stupid - there it was in big letters. I was so focused on doing searching in the PDF I missed that completely.

Secretly hides under the bed hoping no one will notice.
__________________
KataH

"Follow me if I advance! Kill me if I retreat! Avenge me if I die!"
KataH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 12:14 AM   #8
mr beer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by KataH View Post
Well now I feel stupid - there it was in big letters. I was so focused on doing searching in the PDF I missed that completely.

Secretly hides under the bed hoping no one will notice.
It's OK, I think you got away with it bro.
mr beer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 03:01 AM   #9
Hellboy
On Notice
 
Hellboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

Even though it's plastered on the bottom of the page I overlooked the "lite" part too. I figured it more in the sense that characters gave basics and that campaigns gave additional options, not that campaigns necessarily cancelled out any characters' rules.

I guess B369 omitting it is the trump though? It only says "a roll of 3 or 4 always hits, and is a “critical hit”; see Critical Hits (p. 381)."

Part of why this is confusing is I believe the "your blow automatically
does the maximum damage" rule for 3s is a carryover from 3e's Lite system. See 3e Lite pg 25:

As well, on an attack roll of 3, you do not roll for damage
– your blow automatically does the most damage it could do. For instance,
maximum damage for a 1d+2 blow would be 6+2, or 8 hits.
Since Hellboy RPG uses the Lite rules, until now I assumed it was a basic rule :)

I couldn't find this in 3e's basic set though so I think it's probably always been a Lite rule. Although I've never read 1e/2e.
Hellboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 05:46 AM   #10
D10
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In Rio de Janeiro, where it was cyberpunk before it was cool.
Default Re: Attack Roll of 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by KataH View Post
Any ideas?
Kromm has answered this for my group before. The roll of 3 = max damage is a leftover from lite. You can feel free to allow players that roll 3 to choose between max damage or rolling the table (thats how we house ruled it).

In any case, these options (max damage and rolling on the table) should never stack.
D10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.