Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2015, 10:25 PM   #1
seimphous
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default Fighting alone with Orc race and Doppleganger

1)The Orc's race ability allows you to go up an extra level if you are fighting alone and kill the monster by 10 or more.
2)Doppelganger can only be played if you are fighting alone and summons an exact duplicate who fights beside you, so you double your combat strength.

Scenario:
My friend was an Orc at level 8 and lost all his gear.
He was fighting a monster card who he was losing to and no one was willing to help him because if he beat this monster, it would have allowed him to gain 2 levels (i forget which card it was exactly) and win.
He played the Doppelganger card which now was allowing him to win the battle.
One of the other players in turn used the Illusion card and replaces the current monster with a lower level one that upon beating would only give him 1 level instead.
We let the battle resolve and my friend said that he still won the game because of the the Orc ability, which when the math was done, he was beating the monster by more than 10 because of his Doppelganger card that was in play from the previous monster still (without this card he would've been below the 10 strength requirement).

I challenged this because of the wording of the card of Doppelganger that says "summons an exact duplicate who fights beside you" and said that he was no longer "alone" in the battle.

What do you think of this and how it played out? We are both curious as to what the right outcome should be as we want to play consistently and not cheat anyone out of a well deserved win.

Thanks
seimphous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 09:02 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Fighting alone with Orc race and Doppleganger

1) The Orc actually says that ability kicks in if the Orc wins by more than 10, which means you must have a combat strength that is 11 or more than the Monster side.

2) Doppelganger is an Item, not a helper, so the Orc is still fighting alone.

So, not having the final numbers, I can't give an absolute confirmation, but if the win was by 11 (not 10) or more, than the Orc earned two levels for that combat.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.