Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Roleplaying in General

Old 02-13-2006, 05:50 AM   #1
zorg
Experimental Subject

Default One Shot Adventure: Advice Appreciated!

I'm planning to GM a One-Shot adventure (in other words, an adventure which will play out in just one session; so you know what I'm talking about).

The players will consist of two total newbies without any RPing experience, and two slightly more experienced players (who are not much into rules, though they enjoy a good fight now and then).
These players are also without exception quite female (not that I think this will make a difference).

Now I've never GMed a One-Shot before. I read a Pyramid article on this subject, and I got my brain working. So I have some ideas how to do this (pregen characters, start with a Bang, Time Pressure, uncomplicated plot). Still, some of you will have more experience with single-session play than me, I guess.

Do you have any ideas, hints, tips and advice for me? Things that worked out well for you? Things that spell certain catastrophe?
Old 02-13-2006, 08:44 AM   #2
EDG

Default Re: One Shot Adventure: Advice Appreciated!

Some thoughts:
  • One-shots must be short; establish an adventure hook onto which the characters can quickly and easily latch, and minimize the number of complications and NPCs.
  • Pre-generate characters when it's possible; either make them yourself, or have the players present final sheets well in advance of the actual game. This minimizes the chance of unpleasant (for you) surprises at the table (I just sort of assumed the rogue could pick a d**n lock), and maximizes your ability to tailor the adventure to the PCs.