Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2014, 08:20 AM   #1
rofavadeka
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Default Does a cleric win in this case?

Let's assume there is an level 9 cleric and devine intervention is drawn it must be played immediately. As a result the cleric win's the game. One of your friends ( do you have friends in munchkin ? ) noticed the card is played right away and play's a card robbing you from a level. ( like "Curse, lose a level", or "Steal a level" )

Which of the cards is played first in this case and may another played do this?

In my opinion, devine intervention is played immediately, levels up the cleric and ends the game. So when devine intervention is drawn, the game ends and no one can play any cards.

However, some of these "friends" said that it wasn't very munchkin like if you were unable to mess with going up a level, especially the last level.

So a huge discussion began... With still no difinitive answer, we wen't with the last choise becouse we decided it was better for everyone, except that one cleric. But still would like an answer to it.
rofavadeka is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 08:39 AM   #2
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

Divine intervention takes effect immediately upon being drawn, with nothing being able to be played before clerics go up a level. The only exception is if it's in your hand at the beginning of the game, in which case all players may play cleric cards in order to go up the level when DI takes effect, but nothing else is allowed.

From the FAQ:
Quote:
Q. I have just drawn Divine Intervention face down. What happens now?
A. As the card says, no matter how it is drawn, all Clerics go up a level immediately. Show the card, and, if you are a Cleric, play the card in glee. Otherwise, play the card with disgust to show your contempt for those lucky people who are . . .

Q. What happens if a player gets Divine Intervention in his opening hand?
A. The player should show the card immediately. All players who can become Clerics may choose to do so and go up a level. Once everyone is done, the card is discarded.
The only other possible exception I can think of is if there is a card (like annihilation) that is able to cancel any card as it is played, but curses and other cards would have to wait until Divine Intervention is resolved. In this case, you won fair and square :)
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 08:52 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

The official answer is that you cannot put Divine Intervention on pause to Curse someone -- DI happens, the Cleric gets a level, and if it's the winning level, too bad for his opponents.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 09:02 AM   #4
rofavadeka
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

Great, thanks for your reply!
rofavadeka is offline  
Old 10-07-2014, 10:54 AM   #5
Gandel
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

what about the card Annihilation? can it be played on DI to stop the cleric from winning the game? or does it act like curse cards?
Gandel is offline  
Old 10-07-2014, 11:12 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandel View Post
what about the card Annihilation? can it be played on DI to stop the cleric from winning the game? or does it act like curse cards?
Annihilation specifically cancels a card, so it can block Divine Intervention. It's just about the only thing that can, however.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:55 PM   #7
Knighter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

There is another card you can use when the cleric gained the winning level and is "Make the GM Snort Soda out his Nose"
he lose one level and now he is level 9 :)
Knighter is offline  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:59 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Does a cleric win in this case?

Now we're into a discussion, which is specifically against the rules of this forum, so I'm shutting down the thread.

Please remember that the purpose of Munchkin 101 is relatively simple questions and answers, not a discussion about all the possible ways to get around something.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
devine intervention

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.