Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2014, 04:43 PM   #1
Arith Winterfell
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Indiana, United States
Default Question about Illusion (mental)

I'm working on preparing a a game involving psionic powers and I wanted to get a clearer idea about Sensory Control power using Illusion with the mental modifier.

Can the psion involved do subtle edits, for example, hijack the senses of one or two guards, and edit their perception to be only their normal environment, except without the psion and his friends. Essentially this grants a sort of mass invisibility / silence.

Am I understand the ability correctly in them being able to do that?
Arith Winterfell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 05:01 PM   #2
starslayer
On Notice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default Re: Question about Illusion (mental)

Yes, mental illusion is largely just like illusions, but slightly more powerful (and can do damage).

So in order to 'remove' yourself your going to need a roll on illusions art to 'repaint' there view of the world to not include you..

You'll likely be at a penalty for how fast/loud your party is, but no penalties for light levels, or anything else.

Of course if you are willing to be a bit more 'brutal' with your edits it should just be a simple roll: IE you want to remove there ability to precieve change along an entire coridor that your party is going to walk down (but anyone else could walk down that coridor too, and they might notice that nothing in the coridor is changing, but they definatly won't see th party).

Subtle edits can also be great- like just lowering there effective light level and hering to give the party a significant bonus on stealth rolls.
starslayer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 07:52 PM   #3
Not another shrubbery
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Question about Illusion (mental)

Note that Sensory Control (and Mental Illusions in general) does not allow you to affect two people with one use. You'd have to use the power on one and then the other.
Not another shrubbery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
illusion, mental, psionics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.