Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2014, 09:33 AM   #1
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default M:AT #2: Spot the Snail

Spot the Snail is a GUAL card that says "Play immediately when drawn!"

1.) What happens if this card is drawn and the player is level 9 - normally, you cannot play a GuaL card on yourself when you're level 9. Can this card give the winning level if you complete the task?

2.) What happens if this card is drawn as the result of a joint combat where treasure is split? Say, defeating the Monster awards three treasures. I agree to help in exchange for first pick of two treasures. We win and we flip over three cards. The third card is this. Do we divide up the treasures first? Or do we both immediately start looking for the snail?
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 08:07 AM   #2
scuba1125
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Re: M:AT #2: Spot the Snail

The card doesn't explicitly state it can be the winning level, so I would say no on that one.

For the second piece, I would think you divide up first, but the first person to pick the "Spot the Snail" card has to resolve it immediately at that point (using the judgement of the rest of the players to determine if you had too much time or not).
scuba1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2014, 06:46 AM   #3
MaesterKupo
 
MaesterKupo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, Tx
Default Re: M:AT #2: Spot the Snail

Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba1125 View Post
The card doesn't explicitly state it can be the winning level, so I would say no on that one.

For the second piece, I would think you divide up first, but the first person to pick the "Spot the Snail" card has to resolve it immediately at that point (using the judgement of the rest of the players to determine if you had too much time or not).
This is exactly how I played it. As for the first part, you can still attempt to spot the snail, there's just no bonus because you're already Level 9.
__________________
Josh Surfus
MaesterKupo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 09:25 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: M:AT #2: Spot the Snail

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleBob View Post
1.) What happens if this card is drawn and the player is level 9 - normally, you cannot play a GuaL card on yourself when you're level 9. Can this card give the winning level if you complete the task?
Nope. It's wasted; discard it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleBob View Post
2.) What happens if this card is drawn as the result of a joint combat where treasure is split? Say, defeating the Monster awards three treasures. I agree to help in exchange for first pick of two treasures. We win and we flip over three cards. The third card is this. Do we divide up the treasures first? Or do we both immediately start looking for the snail?
Divide treasures; whoever gets this card needs to start looking for a snail immediately. This is one case where you probably don't want to let people dither over their choices...
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.