Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2014, 03:09 AM   #1
grumbles
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Munchkin Pathfinder Question

So a friend of mine played the alchemist card from the Munchkin Pathfinder deck and there the card said that the "usable only once items" would double in potency.
Now my question is if that advantage will apply to all of the "usable only once item"s my friend plays or is it that she can choose just one card to double its potency? The card doesn't say on it that it can only be played once per combat.
grumbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:20 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Pathfinder Question

I'm not sure why you would infer a "once per turn" restriction when no such restriction appears on the card. Every one-shot Item with a combat bonus is doubled when played by an Alchemist.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:23 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Munchkin Pathfinder Question

The card says one-shot Items played in any combat, which means there is no limit. Like you said, it doesn't explicitly provide a limit, and it definitely doesn't imply a limit, either. The card wording also means that it doesn't matter for which side the one-shot Items are played, and the Alchemist doesn't have to be in the combat to do this.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:20 PM   #4
CrossGuard
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Re: Munchkin Pathfinder Question

So does that mean you can use how many as u like while on a battle? example:
the Alchemist is in the middle of a battle and his attack lvl is too low, he then use his ability to double the attack power of "usable once only" that adds +3 to either sides which making it +6.The person who's playing the alchemist has 4 more cards that can add +3 to either side. He then decided to use all of them while in the battle , which adds to +12 and with the ability of alchemist it then doubles to 24.

Now here comes the argument. I assume that in every class , race and fraction have their own ability which makes them unique with limited ability. example:

Cleric
Resurrection: When it is time for you to draw a card face-up, you may instead take the top card from the appropriate discard pile. You must then discard one card from your hand.
Turning: You may discard up to 3 cards in combat against an Undead creature. Each discard gives you a +3 bonus.

Thief
Backstabbing: You may discard a card to backstab another player (-2 in combat). You may do this only once per victim per

well u get the idea. i know you can use their ability anytime you want, wether its your battle or turn and the turn after that, but saving 4 or more cards (lets be honest, all people save those +3 to either side "usable once only" how many time as we like) of +3 to either side is kind of OP. Now if thats the case and we should accept it, theres a reason why we should all go for alchemist.

Last edited by CrossGuard; 08-05-2014 at 09:25 PM.
CrossGuard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:28 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Pathfinder Question

If I'm correctly interpreting your comment, then no, the Alchemist doesn't have a usage limit on the ability other than the obvious one of the number of one-shot Items she has. Can it be overpowered? Sure. On the other hand, several other Classes and Factions have ways to screw with the other munchkins, so the Alchemist is far from immune.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:48 PM   #6
CrossGuard
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Re: Munchkin Pathfinder Question

In other words. a lvl 9 alchemist with +10 equip items (=19) and plus 5 cards of +3 to either side "usable once only" (19+30=49) is ok? meaning, its an easy win from a lvl 20 monster.
CrossGuard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 10:03 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Pathfinder Question

I'm saying that part of the game is getting the Alchemist to burn his cards earlier, such as by giving him almost-unwinnable fights before the final combat and refusing to help so he HAS to use his cards.

There are LOTS of Classes, Races, etc. across the Munchkin games that look really powerful in isolation. It's up to the players to figure out how to weaken or get around those abilities. For example, one Alchemist can easily counteract another just by playing his own doubled one-shots. Or you could hit the Alchemist with lots of Curses.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grumbles, munchkinman

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.