Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2017, 08:42 PM   #121
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonidas View Post
Leonidas needs help here. I am having an issue with SHVY Tanks. I see that multiple D results have no effect. However, if a SHVY Tank (disabled in the previous turn) gets a disabled result as a side outcome on his optional damage chart (and not on the standard CRT), I should just ignore it? And the SHVY tank will recover as nothing has happened. I understand that multiple or subsequent D results on CRT do not are ignored and the SHVY tank will recover based on the timing of the first D result. However, a disabled status on the optional damage chart can happen only after a X result which allows to do the second roll on the optional damage chart. Are these situations always treated the same?

Second issue about troop transport. I am wondering if it would make more sense if the INF could dismount the vehicle on any adjacent hex, and then stop. Any thoughts on this?

Many thanks.

Leonidas
Not quite following what you are asking about the SHVY. I think you are saying you are using Optional rule 13.07 for partial damage? If that's the case, then yes; a second Disabled result against an already disabled SHVY has no effect, regardless where that second D result came from. The important part is "D results donít combine into an X."

As for the INF dismounting; INF are able to dismount at any time during the transport's movement, as long as the INF have not also mounted in the same turn. There is nothing that says INF have to ride a unit its full movement before dismounting; they can get off at any point.

From a scale perspective, think about how having them dismount to an adjacent hex would allow too much movement. They could ride a SHVY for 3 hexes, then dismount into a fourth hex, effectively doubling their movement. That also means they would be jumping an additional 1.5km away from the unit they were riding, which doesn't make sense. Dismounting is meant to be "getting off the unit in the same hex" which is a lot more reasonable; especially since dismounting takes all their movement for the turn to do it.
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 01:29 AM   #122
Leonidas
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Milan, Italy
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Thank you very much. You understood my issue correctly, despite my poor English.

Maybe something on 13.07 colud be added to clarify that a second disable on the SHVY has no effect, notwithstanding the source (CRT OR optional damage table) and will not delay the SHVYís recover in any way.
But maybe itís just me having hard time to deal with it.

Thank you also for the clarification on the INF trasport. You are right, and I used the rule right. itís just that I love marines, and I wanted to boost them up a little bit.

Thanks again. Itís the second time I am having isdues with the SHVY, but I wanted to be extra sure!
Leonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 09:55 AM   #123
GranitePenguin
 
GranitePenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Plainfield, IL
Default Re: Official Rules Update and FAQ (Draft versions 1.01 - June 21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonidas View Post
Thank you very much. You understood my issue correctly, despite my poor English.

Maybe something on 13.07 colud be added to clarify that a second disable on the SHVY has no effect, notwithstanding the source (CRT OR optional damage table) and will not delay the SHVYís recover in any way.
But maybe itís just me having hard time to deal with it.

Thank you also for the clarification on the INF trasport. You are right, and I used the rule right. itís just that I love marines, and I wanted to boost them up a little bit.

Thanks again. Itís the second time I am having isdues with the SHVY, but I wanted to be extra sure!
Using the optional rules for the SHVY does complicate things; it's not just you trying to interpret the rules. :-) The easiest way to remember it is if you think of the partial damage SHVY like a mini-ogre. It's possible to disable the unit, but multiple disables won't kill it (in other words, to kill it, you _need_ an X just like an Ogre).
__________________
GranitePenguin
MIB #2214
GranitePenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.