Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2014, 01:43 AM   #1
JonaBullets
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default New Starter Questions

My apologizes if in previous posts or threads these questions have been answered but I have been searching high and low for a number of hours now; found some answers, but still missing the remainder.

If you don't mind, I'll throw them all in one. These questions refer to the cards and rules in Munchkin/Deluxe (as I'm new I haven't purchased any new base decks or expansions)

1: Can Curse and/or Monster Cards and/or GUAL be put down in front of the player as "carried" cards, and used when necessary?

(This may sound like a very n00b question, but I couldn't see anywhere in the rules that said you cannot "carry" them)

2: "Charity": Assuming that the cards above cannot be "carried" and I have 5 cards (3 Curse Cards, Illusion, Cheat!) in my hand already, I "Kick Open the Door" and find a "Mate" card, which I put in my hand; at this point I don't have any monster cards, so I loot the room, and find an "Out To Lunch" card. Now I have 7 Cards.

2A: I am a level 2, and every one else is a level 2 or more, So at this point I just throw 2 of these cards to the discard pile, correct?

2B-1: I am a level 5, and we have a level 4 and two level 2s, so at this point, I pick 2 of the cards from my hand, and give both the level 2s, one card each (as a MUST)?

2B-2: After giving each player one card each, the level 2 to my right has 6 cards now, does he have to discard 1 card at this point, or wait until the end of his turn when it gets around to him?

(Again, my apologizes if my questions seem dumb or to in depth, I just want to make sure when we start playing it's correct from the get go, its hard to break incorrect habits after you play the wrong way)

3: Undead Monsters: Player 3 Kicks Open the Door and finds a Level 2, Undead: Mr Bones. I have Level 16 Undead: King Tut, in my hand. I am able to play this at any time during his combat to increase the level required to 18, and if he cannot beat it, he is still required to roll twice to escape?

3a: and I assume that if he does beat both monsters, obtaining Level 18 (if a warrior) or 19 if not, he get both number of treasures on the card (5), he will also go up 2 levels?

4: Super Munchkin Card: If I am a Thief, but have a Super Munchkin Card, but not a 2nd card and I choose to play the "Theft" aspect of the class, but do not roll a 4+ on the dice. Is the "lose a level" negated by the fact I am a super munchkin with all the advantages, BUT NOT the disadvantages?

I hope these questions aren't too dumb, and easy enough to be answered, it's just been a bit of a mind boggle trying to work out what is what, but we are super keen to start playing, just wanted to double check a few things first :)

Last edited by JonaBullets; 06-04-2014 at 02:05 AM.
JonaBullets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 02:35 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: New Starter Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
1: Can Curse and/or Monster Cards and/or GUAL be put down in front of the player as "carried" cards, and used when necessary?
No. The only cards that can be played as carried but unequipped are Items -- cards with a printed Gold Piece value in the bottom right. (The phrase "No Value" is the same as zero Gold Pieces, so it counts.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
2A: I am a level 2, and every one else is a level 2 or more, So at this point I just throw 2 of these cards to the discard pile, correct?
Not until the end of your turn. If it IS the end of your turn, then yes, if you are lowest Level or tied for lowest, you discard rather than giving Charity to another player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
2B-1: I am a level 5, and we have a level 4 and two level 2s, so at this point, I pick 2 of the cards from my hand, and give both the level 2s, one card each (as a MUST)?
Assuming it is the end of your turn, yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
2B-2: After giving each player one card each, the level 2 to my right has 6 cards now, does he have to discard 1 card at this point, or wait until the end of his turn when it gets around to him?
Hand size never matters until the end of your own turn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
3: Undead Monsters: Player 3 Kicks Open the Door and finds a Level 2, Undead: Mr Bones. I have Level 16 Undead: King Tut, in my hand. I am able to play this at any time during his combat to increase the level required to 18, and if he cannot beat it, he is still required to roll twice to escape?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
3a: and I assume that if he does beat both monsters, obtaining Level 18 (if a warrior) or 19 if not, he get both number of treasures on the card (5), he will also go up 2 levels?
Actually, 3 levels, as King Tut grants 2 levels if you kill him. If you kill all the monsters, you get all the rewards from each monster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonaBullets View Post
4: Super Munchkin Card: If I am a Thief, but have a Super Munchkin Card, but not a 2nd card and I choose to play the "Theft" aspect of the class, but do not roll a 4+ on the dice. Is the "lose a level" negated by the fact I am a super munchkin with all the advantages, BUT NOT the disadvantages?
No. Paying a cost for failing to activate an ability is not a "disadvantage" as meant by the Super Munchkin card. A Super Thief with no second class can use Items that say "Not Usable by Thief" and does not cause monsters with a bonus against Thieves to get that bonus.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 03:33 AM   #3
JonaBullets
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Re: New Starter Questions

Awesome! thank you very much for answering those questions! and so quickly. this definitely eases the pain of not knowing/understanding.
JonaBullets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 05:00 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: New Starter Questions

I do want to clarify one thing: A charater's or Monster's Level plus bonuses minus penalties is called its combat strength. You compare combat strengths in combat, so the combat strength to defeat Mr. Bones and King Tut would be 18, not the Level.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 05:28 AM   #5
JonaBullets
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Re: New Starter Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
I do want to clarify one thing: A charater's or Monster's Level plus bonuses minus penalties is called its combat strength. You compare combat strengths in combat, so the combat strength to defeat Mr. Bones and King Tut would be 18, not the Level.
Yes, Sorry, that is what I meant a "Combat Strength of 18" not 'Level 18", eg. I could be a Level 4, wearing: Clock Of Obscurity (+4), have a Dagger of Treachery in my hand (+3) throw Freezing Explosive Potion (+3), and have some Pretty Balloons tied around my waist (+5), that would make me +19 enough to win. (Because I am not a Warrior any more, so I have to be +1 to win), Correct?
JonaBullets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 07:42 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: New Starter Questions

That's correct.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carry, charity, discard, hand limit, undead

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.