Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2014, 11:33 PM   #1
De Hayes
 
Join Date: May 2014
Default Some confusion on term munchkin(s), giving cards, clerics ability, and dowsing

Been playing occasional sundays with my nephew and sister.

The term munchkins on the one time only cards, do they mean the players(in general), or just the Super Munchkins?

Second, when can cards be given, specific incident, combat, with one play aiding another, the player aiding has the Magic Lamp card, obviously that player can't play the card because it's not his turn, but can he give the card to the player who's turn it is, since they are both in combat?


Third, the cleric ability resurrection, says you can choose to take from the discard pile when instead of the door deck, as long as you discard a card for each one you draw, my nephew argues that you can only draw one card because you would only draw one card on kicking down the door is he right?


Three b. the term face up here seems to be confusing as it refers to both the discard pile cards and the way the kick down the door card is played. The only card you draw face up is The kick down the door the others are drawn from the face up(discard pile).

Four, I was confused with something I read on the FAQs implying that if you use the rod of dowsing to draw the "Hoard" card you would draw the three card form the face down pile, I thought the card read that if drawn face up (from the discard pile) you draw the three cards from the face up(discard pile).

Last edited by De Hayes; 05-25-2014 at 11:36 PM. Reason: spelling
De Hayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 01:29 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Some confusion on term munchkin(s), giving cards, clerics ability, and dowsing

Quote:
Originally Posted by De Hayes View Post
The term munchkins on the one time only cards, do they mean the players(in general), or just the Super Munchkins?
"Munchkins" is the same as "players," generally contrasted with the monsters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by De Hayes View Post
Second, when can cards be given, specific incident, combat, with one play aiding another, the player aiding has the Magic Lamp card, obviously that player can't play the card because it's not his turn, but can he give the card to the player who's turn it is, since they are both in combat?
You cannot give, take, or trade cards when you (or your trading partner) are in combat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by De Hayes View Post
Third, the cleric ability resurrection, says you can choose to take from the discard pile when instead of the door deck, as long as you discard a card for each one you draw, my nephew argues that you can only draw one card because you would only draw one card on kicking down the door is he right?
He is. You cannot use resurrection to draw more cards than you would otherwise be entitled to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by De Hayes View Post
Three b. the term face up here seems to be confusing as it refers to both the discard pile cards and the way the kick down the door card is played. The only card you draw face up is The kick down the door the others are drawn from the face up(discard pile).
It's also used when you win a combat with another player helping you; your Treasure is face up in that case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by De Hayes View Post
Four, I was confused with something I read on the FAQs implying that if you use the rod of dowsing to draw the "Hoard" card you would draw the three card form the face down pile, I thought the card read that if drawn face up (from the discard pile) you draw the three cards from the face up(discard pile).
I agree that it's confusing. We ruled that the Wand Of Dowsing puts the card you draw into your hand precisely because of Hoard! -- otherwise, there's a possible loop where Clerics are concerned. Here's the official sequence:
  1. At some point in the past, Hoard! was played, and it is now in the Treasure discard pile.
  2. You play Wand Of Dowsing to grab Hoard! By ruling, this means Hoard! goes into your hand. (Otherwise, a Cleric could use the Wand Of Dowsing to grab Hoard!, discard the Wand, and then resurrect the Wand Of Dowsing as one of his three face-up Treasures, which he could then use to grab Hoard! . . . You see the problem.)
  3. Hoard! can't stay in your hand, so you play it immediately. Hoard! played from your hand is like Hoard! drawn as a face-down Treasure, so the cards it gives you come from the face-down deck, not the discard pile.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cleric resurrection, dowsing, giving cards, hoard, munchkins

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.