Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2014, 10:09 AM   #1
Mr Munch
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Restraining Order VS. Annihilation

Hey there, a situation arose where someone was fighting a monster for the win, the only thing any player could do to prevent them from winning was playing their Annihilation card on the monster, during the cheers of celebration at them being stopped from winning he played the Restraining Order card... Then commenced the arguements between which outcome was right...

A) Player that used Annihilation got it back n Player fighting monster continued and won!?

Or

B) The Annihilation happens, the monster is gone and Player fighting monster cannot use Restraining Order!?

Thanks
Mr Munch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 11:03 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Restraining Order VS. Annihilation

In the past, we've said that a once-and-done card, like Annihilation, gets returned, but its effects do not get reversed. Cards like one-shot Items that give bonuses to a side, or Monster Enhancers, once gone, would no longer provide bonuses to the Monster(s), but an annihilated Monster would not return because of Restraining Order.

However, Restraining Order is not limited to being played during combat (it says, "Play at any time," at the start), nor is the combat over, since anyone could still wander a Monster in, even the player in combat. Beyond that, the player's turn is not over, and therefore he could still play Restraining Order, in order to prevent further abuses at the hand of a single player for the remainder of the turn. So, neither A, nor B, are correct, but:

C) The Monster is removed from the game completely and placed back in the box for this game, the player who played Annihilation gets it back (because of Restraining Order), and combat continues if anyone wanders in a Monster for the player in combat to fight. Otherwise, the player's turn moves on to playing Items, other cards, and then Charity.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 04-15-2014 at 03:41 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 03:14 PM   #3
Mr Munch
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Restraining Order VS. Annihilation

Cheers MunchkinMan, with the amount of expansions and extra cards we play it was always gonna be a rare occurance but at least now if it does ever happen again we'll know what to do!

Thanks again :)
Mr Munch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
annihilation, conflict, restraining order

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.