Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2014, 02:04 PM   #1
Stanith
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default GUAL cards turning combat into winning level

Hi,

An interesting winning situation occurred the last time I played that I'd like some clarification on! I think it was probably valid, but a lot of people argued that it wasn't so it's probably worth asking about :)

- Player A is in combat, currently level 7.
- Player A asks Player B to help them (for a share of the treasure).
- Player B agrees, and combined they defeat the monster (which gives one level).
- Player A then pulls out two GUAL cards (claiming they're being used before the end of the combat), therefore causing the combat to give them the winning level.

Was this legal? In the end I couldn't find a reason why not so I allowed them to win. Others were arguing that they were being used to gain the winning level because the combat was over, and others were arguing that they should have been able to withdraw their help.

Thanks in advance! :)
Stanith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 02:25 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: GUAL cards turning combat into winning level

First off, once a player has agreed to help and has joined the combat, he can't leave on his own. That's not even an option. Also, once the combat situation changes, the player in combat has to give the other players an opportunity to stop him. If the player claimed that he won the combat, then played the GUAL cards, that's a problem. At most, he could play GUALs to get to Level 9, but that's it. However, if he got a helper, played the cards, then said, "Try to stop me," that's fine. Every other player in the game (even the one helping) could then play cards to help the Monster(s), or even to remove the helper (there are cards that would do this).

I want to address the helper leaving issue one last time: If the main combatant used an ability to compel a helper, and that ability says it can't be used for the winning Level, then, of course, the helper can (and should) leave, but if there's a player that wants to help, there's nothing stopping the main player from getting a new helper, just not through an ability that compels someone and can't be used for the winning Level. The only other situations where a helper can leave or is removed is by the arrival of a Monster that can only be fought alone, or by cards which specifically say they remove/replace a helper.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 04-14-2014 at 02:35 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 03:13 PM   #3
Stanith
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Re: GUAL cards turning combat into winning level

So assuming the player didn't explicitly say they won the combat (I don't think they did in this situation), but did decide to use the GUAL cards while in combat and after accepting help, it's then perfectly legal even if that's the winning level?

Personally I couldn't see a problem with it, but I was taken aback as I'd never seen them used that way before! :) It seems to me like it's perhaps the easiest way to win, just save all your GUAL cards, face a monster, accept help from someone with a high combat level... job done if no one has any cards to end the fight prematurely (remove monsters, etc).
Stanith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 04:27 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: GUAL cards turning combat into winning level

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanith View Post
So assuming the player didn't explicitly say they won the combat (I don't think they did in this situation), but did decide to use the GUAL cards while in combat and after accepting help, it's then perfectly legal even if that's the winning level?
Yes.

Quote:
Personally I couldn't see a problem with it, but I was taken aback as I'd never seen them used that way before! :) It seems to me like it's perhaps the easiest way to win, just save all your GUAL cards, face a monster, accept help from someone with a high combat level... job done if no one has any cards to end the fight prematurely (remove monsters, etc).
Bear in mind, "sneaky" behavior by a player, can be rewarding, at first. But, eventually that player will not be trusted, and people will be wary of helping him at risky times.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.