Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 02:15 AM   #1
platonic
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Two monsters at once

Two monsters are in combat against a single munchkin. Here is the exact sequence of events:

Monster #1 is worth four treasures and has a monster enhancer that give it two additional treasures. Monster #2 is worth two treasures.

Player A avoids losing combat by charming Monster #1. Player B then decides to play Vanished Into Legend. Does the Wizard still claim his six treasures from the charmed monster? If so, please explain. Thank you.
platonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 05:21 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Two monsters at once

No, he would not since Vanished Into Legend completely overrides how much Treasure comes out of the combat. Vanished Into Legend is very much, if not almost exactly, like a card from Munchkin named Out To Lunch. So the ruling I'm going to provide a link to would be basically the same thing.

http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?p=1269891
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 01-10-2014 at 05:28 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:17 PM   #3
Bearget
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Re: Two monsters at once

Although it's not quite the same scenario, I have to say that this just makes the official ruling on Friendship Potion all the more confusing. Why should Vanished Into Legend and Out To Lunch completely override previously-defeated monsters and result in only two treasures being drawn, while Friendship Potion allows players to gain levels/treasure for monsters defeated before it is played and additionally allows them to loot the room?
Bearget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 09:32 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Two monsters at once

Could you provide links to the rulings to which you are referring?
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 10:19 PM   #5
Bearget
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Re: Two monsters at once

I tried to collect the most recent rulings on the Friendship Potion in this thread; hopefully I didn't miss anything.
Bearget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.