Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 08:51 PM   #1
ohho
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Treasures with Polymorph Potion and Ancient +10 to Monster

We have a question regarding Polymorph Potion and Ancient +10 to Monster. A player was facing a monster that would give 2 treasures when I added the Ancient +10 to Monster card, which states 2 extra treasures would be dropped if the monster is defeated. The player then used a Polymorph Potion that turned the monster into a bird that flies away leaving the treasure behind.

I argue that because the bird flies away and is not defeated, then only the 2 original treasures should be rewarded. The player thinks differently and think the treasure the bird leaves behind includes the two from the ancient +10.

Any advice?
ohho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 10:02 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Treasures with Polymorph Potion and Ancient +10 to Monster

Yes: apologize to your friend. He would get ALL the Treasures.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:09 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Treasures with Polymorph Potion and Ancient +10 to Monster

To give some further explanation to Andrew's statement: A Monster is defeated when it is removed from the combat. That includes killing a Monster as well as using a card or ability that removes the Monster without killing it. The rules imply that, but we do a more complete job of defining "defeat" in the FAQ.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.