Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Bad-Mark
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Hireling questions

3. Can the card "kill the hireling" be used on hireling that is in carried state?

4. Can you use Hireling ability to automatic escape from the carried state?

5. If there is in game two or more hirelings, can the kill the hireling kill all of them or just one that you are pointing.

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 11-30-2013 at 05:42 PM.
Bad-Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 05:29 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: A couple questions?

Quote:
3. Can the card "kill the hireling" be used on hireling that is in carried state?
Two issues here. First, all Items you currently have on the table are considered carried. Some are in use while the others are turned sideways. I assume you mean your sideways items by 'carried state', but using the term that way is incorrect.

Second, Hireling is not an Item, so it can not be turned sideways. Once you play it, it is always considered in play and is vulnerable to Kill the Hireling.

Quote:
4. Can you use Hireling ability to automatic escape from the carried state?
Again, it cannot be turned sideways in the first place.

Quote:
5. If there is in game two or more hirelings, can the kill the hireling kill all of them or just one that you are pointing.
It kills one Hireling on the table of the player's choice.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 11-30-2013 at 05:43 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 05:49 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: A couple questions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
It kills one Hireling on the table of the player's choice.
Just so it's clear, this is the choice of the person playing Kill the Hireling, not the person (or people) owning the Hireling(s).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:07 PM   #4
kana63
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mostar, B & H
Default Re: Hireling questions

Whether hireling (from the first set) can carry one item, that is, for example, extra big and prohibited by the player's race? Or is cheating restricted to just one thing?
kana63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 10:24 AM   #5
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Hireling questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by kana63 View Post
Whether hireling (from the first set) can carry one item, that is, for example, extra big and prohibited by the player's race? Or is cheating restricted to just one thing?
The hireling from the first set is basically a cheat card with legs. He can carry and use any one item, big or small, no matter if you can use it normally or not.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 05:17 AM   #6
Jredmiston
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re: Hireling questions

Quote:
Second, Hireling is not an Item, so it can not be turned sideways. Once you play it, it is always considered in play and is vulnerable to Kill the Hireling.
Though, Munchkin 4 states: A Hireling is not an Item unless it has a price on it. You may only trade Hirelings that have a Gold Piece value.

I'm pretty new to the game so I've been scouring the forums for rules clarifications and the quote above caused some confusion. Couldn't I carry, but not have in use (sideways), a hireling of this type?
Jredmiston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 07:57 AM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Hireling questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jredmiston View Post
Though, Munchkin 4 states: A Hireling is not an Item unless it has a price on it. You may only trade Hirelings that have a Gold Piece value.

I'm pretty new to the game so I've been scouring the forums for rules clarifications and the quote above caused some confusion. Couldn't I carry, but not have in use (sideways), a hireling of this type?
The rules say you can only have one Hireling, so no:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin 4/5/8 Rules
You can play a Hireling at any time, even in combat, as long as you have only one Hireling in play at a time.
Just because it is an Item doesn't change it from being a Hireling, and as you can see, the above rule I quoted leaves no wiggle room.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 04:01 PM   #8
Jredmiston
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Re: Hireling questions

Thank you for the clarification, MM. You guys are Johnny-on-the-spot when it comes to answering questions.

Jess
Jredmiston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:06 AM   #9
kana63
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mostar, B & H
Default Re: Hireling questions

Can Hireling change carried item?
I think that answer is yes but I need confirm.
kana63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 05:46 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Hireling questions

You can change the Item that a Hireling is using for you.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.