Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2013, 07:02 AM   #1
Animagus99
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Swapping Race/Class Cards

Hi,
I'm new to the Munchkin world, but its been wicked fun so far. One debate that rages around our table though:

If I have a class (or race) in play and I get a second (different) class card, can I keep the 2nd class card in my hand and swap back and forth during my turn? So one turn, I decide I want to be a Wizard so I pick up my Cleric card that is in play, return it to my hand, and play the Wizard card and vice-versa two turns from then. Is this legal? The rules state "...you lose them [Class abilities] as soon as you discard that card" but doesn't indicate if discarding is the *only* option.

Thanks!
Animagus99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:08 AM   #2
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Swapping Race/Class Cards

Discarding is the only option. In order to play a new Race you discard the old one.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:25 AM   #3
Animagus99
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Re: Swapping Race/Class Cards

Thanks so much!
Animagus99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:04 AM   #4
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Swapping Race/Class Cards

As a general rule, once a card is played you don't ever take it back into your hand unless another card specifically tells you to.
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Swapping Race/Class Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by StormCrow42 View Post
As a general rule, once a card is played you don't ever take it back into your hand unless another card specifically tells you to.
Which, by the way, is stated in the rules. It's the very last sentence of the Card Management section on page 1.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 08-22-2013 at 09:00 AM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.