Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
AttilatheNun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Contemplate Your Navel

I was playing a while ago and someone played the "Contemplate Your Navel" card, which allows you to go up a level but only after discarding your entire hand. Furthermore, it specifies that your "entire hand" must include a minimum of 3 cards. The person who played it made the argument that the "Contemplate Your Navel" card itself could count as one of these three cards. Being the owner of the game, I allowed it at the time, but now I'm not so sure. Any thoughts?
AttilatheNun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Contemplate Your Navel

You cannot use a discard to power that card's ability unless the card is very clear that it is allowed. In this case, it is not.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 03:39 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Contemplate Your Navel

Also note that Contemplate Your Navel allows you to go up a level no matter what. If you discard your entire hand of three cards or more (and Contemplate Your Navel is no longer in your hand at that point as Andrew points out), you go up two levels instead.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:33 PM   #4
abbath
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default Re: Contemplate Your Navel

According to Munchkin FAQ,I can use any Go Up A level card to any player I want,at any time. Can I use the "Contemplate Your Navel" card to force someone to discard his whole hand to go up that level?Or is it in his will? Is this what that card does in the first place?
abbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 05:47 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Contemplate Your Navel

Contemplate Your Navel doesn't force the player to go up two levels. The player you play it on goes up a level, and if they have three or more cards in their hand and choose to discard their whole hand, they go up a second level.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:00 PM   #6
abbath
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default Re: Contemplate Your Navel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Contemplate Your Navel doesn't force the player to go up two levels. The player you play it on goes up a level, and if they have three or more cards in their hand and choose to discard their whole hand, they go up a second level.
Thanks!Your answer made it clear.
abbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.