Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2013, 05:22 PM   #1
toadfish
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Dice loophole? Wording too vague...

Just played a fairly heated game.

a card (and others too) specifically say "roll *a* dice" and others say "roll *the* dice". We interpret "the dice " as a d6 supplied by the game but "a dice" can mean any sideded dice, say a d20 or even a d100, if one is available.

Is there any specific rule against the "a dice" interpretation?
toadfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:38 PM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Dice loophole? Wording too vague...

I know that the official ruling is that any reference to a die is to a D6, unless it very CLEARLY states otherwise. I thought it would be in the FAQ, but I couldn't find it.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:59 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Dice loophole? Wording too vague...

Yep. 'Roll a die' means the same thing as 'Roll the die' which means to roll a d6. There is one very specific card that I am aware of (Duck of Earl) that says 'ANY die you have at the table or in your pocket.' I think that card is the only one that allows you to roll anything other than a d6.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 08:19 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Dice loophole? Wording too vague...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
Yep. 'Roll a die' means the same thing as 'Roll the die' which means to roll a d6. There is one very specific card that I am aware of (Duck of Earl) that says 'ANY die you have at the table or in your pocket.' I think that card is the only one that allows you to roll anything other than a d6.
To my knowledge and database searching skills, you are correct.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 10:06 PM   #5
emillang1000
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Default Re: Dice loophole? Wording too vague...

I believe the FAQ specifically says that any mention of a Die/Dice anywhere refers to d6s/six-sided dice ONLY - unless EXPLICITLY stated on the card to be otherwise, such as the Duck of Earl.

Some cards make mention of SPECIFIC dice, too - such as the "Cube" cards that go with the Jumbo D6s, and the holiday cards which mention the Jolly Jumbo D6s. There's also at least one mention of Red & Green dice in the Holiday Surprise set.

And the Bag of Holding mentions "Munchkin Dice"... those are specifically only dice with the Munchkin symbol on them, so Jumbo D6s of any kind don't count.
__________________
Dx 2-7 MFD ME RLD Conan FD MNM WFS SR RG Jumbo D6, KoM

Last edited by emillang1000; 08-06-2013 at 10:10 PM.
emillang1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dice, loophole, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.