Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 04:33 AM   #1
Kl09
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Hippogriff

Good day, I have a question:
I was fighting vs Hippogriff,but he was stronger then me and I was trying to Run away, but iI failed the Run away.
His Bad Stuff: "People are taking ur treasure " But in my arms are no treasure and in table only 1 treasure- "Talking Potion" and it is laying under the STEED, so the question: Can my friend take this card to him or he cant, cause i think that this is potion, which my steed has already drank, and so he cant take only this one card...
Kl09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:30 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Hippogriff

The Talking Potion is a Treasure card, so it could be taken away from your Steed.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:18 AM   #3
tremorlaine
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: Hippogriff

Wouldn't they also be able to take the steed?
__________________
Current wins via Divine Intervention - 3

Future site of Griffon Gaming
tremorlaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 08:34 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Hippogriff

Quote:
Originally Posted by tremorlaine View Post
Wouldn't they also be able to take the steed?
No, because Steeds are mostly Door cards. The Hippogriff specifically says Treasure cards.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 11:17 AM   #5
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Hippogriff

In that case, is this the kind of situation where a player could lose the Very Impressive Title, because, though it's not an item, it IS a treasure card?
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:57 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Hippogriff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gidoza View Post
In that case, is this the kind of situation where a player could lose the Very Impressive Title, because, though it's not an item, it IS a treasure card?
It. Says. Treasure. Cards. Yes.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:28 PM   #7
Gidoza
 
Join Date: May 2013
Default Re: Hippogriff

So, also in that case...while an item isn't an item until it's played to the table, I would take it that a treasure card is a treasure card no matter where it is - so then this Bad Stuff would affect treasure cards on table or in hand, yes? (I'm not 100% sure of the wording, though, since I don't have the card in front of me.)
Gidoza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:44 PM   #8
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Hippogriff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gidoza View Post
So, also in that case...while an item isn't an item until it's played to the table, I would take it that a treasure card is a treasure card no matter where it is - so then this Bad Stuff would affect treasure cards on table or in hand, yes? (I'm not 100% sure of the wording, though, since I don't have the card in front of me.)
The card is super specific when it says that each player may take a Treasure card from in front of you or from your hand without looking.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:06 PM   #9
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Hippogriff

The Treasure that is taken goes into the hands of the opposing players, even if it was an Item on the table, right? Normally when a card effect lets you take an Item from another player, it must stay in play, but Hippogriff's effect seems to be more akin to looting cards, which go into your hand.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 11:02 PM   #10
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Hippogriff

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
The Talking Potion is a Treasure card, so it could be taken away from your Steed.
so, if I must to lose an item I can chose to lose an attached enhancer (if it have price, of course) ?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.