Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2013, 03:05 AM   #1
killshot111
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default Wizard charming a monster in battle when cursed with "Lose your class"

Sorry if this question was asked already but I couldn't find anything with my search criteria/search terms.

What's the timing of this play. If I remember correctly (I don't have the cards in front of me), my friend was a wizard fighting a monster in battle. He had items usable only by wizards but with these bonuses, he was able to beat the monster.

Someone played a Lose your Class card (or whatever it was) to make them go from Wizard to whatever was in the discard pile (turned into a Thief). Now, he can no longer use the items usable only by wizards and was losing the fight. He asked if he could as a response to the curse, quickly charm the monster. I said I wasn't sure.

Is he able to charm the monster or he lost the class due to the curse and wouldn't be able to charm? Thanks for your reply.
killshot111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:18 AM   #2
six's monkey
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Default Re: Wizard charming a monster in battle when cursed with "Lose your class"

Anyone at the table who has one can play a Wishing Ring or similar curse-cancelling card while Lose Your Class is being worked out, but once it is done, it is done.
The now-thief can backstab, iirc, and can of course use his thiefly ways to thwart the one who cursed him, but he is no longer charming in the way a wizard can be.
He can become a wizard again, if he has another Wizard card, including (I think) right then as it is still his turn, and at any time down the road should he happen to draw one or obtain it through other legal means.

I will humbly accept correction, as mine is not an official answer, merely a friendly reply.
six's monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:36 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Wizard charming a monster in battle when cursed with "Lose your class"

There is no "stack." The Curse's effect is immediate and must be resolved immediately, so he can't respond in any other way than a Curse-canceling card, or other card or ability that can specifically cancel a Curse or card's effects. Once you lose a Class, you lose all of its abilities. Once you gain a class, you gain all of its abilities. Unfortunately, that's no help to the Wizard-now-Thief in your scenario since he can't play new Items during combat and has no other combat abilities.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:43 PM   #4
Brule
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Default Re: Wizard charming a monster in battle when cursed with "Lose your class"

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
There is no "stack." The Curse's effect is immediate and must be resolved immediately, so he can't respond in any other way than a Curse-canceling card, or other card or ability that can specifically cancel a Curse or card's effects. Once you lose a Class, you lose all of its abilities. Once you gain a class, you gain all of its abilities. Unfortunately, that's no help to the Wizard-now-Thief in your scenario since he can't play new Items during combat and has no other combat abilities.
another question, if a wizard SAY he is using the charm spell, can i imediatelly play a remove class curse, so he cant use the charm?
Brule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 09:36 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Wizard charming a monster in battle when cursed with "Lose your class"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brule View Post
another question, if a wizard SAY he is using the charm spell, can i imediatelly play a remove class curse, so he cant use the charm?
The trigger for the Wizard using his Charm Spell is technically discarding his hand of cards. If your card hits the table before his discards do, then you can successfully stop him from being able to use the spell.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:27 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Wizard charming a monster in battle when cursed with "Lose your class"

Fortunately for the Wizard, he doesn't get to be selective, so he just has to drop all his cards on the table and announce he's charming a monster. :-)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
combat phase, lose your class, wizard charm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.