Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2013, 02:37 PM   #1
Munchkinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: I live in a dark scary hole, whispering, "Precious..."
Default Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

OK, so in Munchkin Cthulu, I know that if you draw or are given (as charity) a Cultist card, then you have to play it and become a Cultist. I understand that Cultist cards get their own discard pile.

Now, some cards make you a Cultist, such as meeting H.P. Munchcraft. What if there are no Cultist cards in the discards?

Do you wait until a Cultist card is discarded and then automatically take it and replace your class with it?

Do you replace your current class with an imaginary "Cultist Card" and so are a Cultist - just without the card - until a Cultist card is discarded?

Or do you just avoid becoming a Cultist at all since there are no Cultist cards available?
Munchkinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 03:06 PM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkinator View Post
OK, so in Munchkin Cthulu, I know that if you draw or are given (as charity) a Cultist card, then you have to play it and become a Cultist. I understand that Cultist cards get their own discard pile.

Now, some cards make you a Cultist, such as meeting H.P. Munchcraft. What if there are no Cultist cards in the discards?
The Munchkin Cthulhu Rules say what to do in that case:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkin Cthulhu Rules
When you discard a Cultist card for any reason, put it in a separate discard pile, not in the regular Door discards, and do not count this pile as “discards” for any other purpose, because:
If any card tells you “Become a Cultist,” and there is a discarded Cultist card waiting for you, then you must take it. If there is no Cultist card, you escaped . . . this time. If you were already a Cultist, there is no further effect; you don’t take another card.
Also, if you draw or given a Cultist card, you are in no obligation to play it. The only rule is that, once you are a Cultist, you can't discard it voluntarily.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 03:07 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkinator View Post
OK, so in Munchkin Cthulu, I know that if you draw or are given (as charity) a Cultist card, then you have to play it and become a Cultist.
This is not Not NOT the case. I really want to find the person who keeps telling people this is the rule and cut off his . . . access to Munchkin players.

The only time you are required to become a Cultist is when a card says you are. And if there are no Cultist cards in the discards when that card says so, you STILL don't become a Cultist.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:30 PM   #4
Munchkinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: I live in a dark scary hole, whispering, "Precious..."
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
This is not Not NOT the case. I really want to find the person who keeps telling people this is the rule and cut off his . . . access to Munchkin players.

The only time you are required to become a Cultist is when a card says you are. And if there are no Cultist cards in the discards when that card says so, you STILL don't become a Cultist.
Oh, OK! Thanks for all the help.

In his defense, he'd never played Cthulu before either, so we were all new (even though it was his game).

One follow up question: If I have the Cult Membership Card (but am not a "real" Cultist) and a card tells me to become a Cultist and there IS a Cultist card already in the discards, can I just say, "I'm already a Cultist, so that doesn't apply," and so escape?
Munchkinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:23 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkinator View Post
One follow up question: If I have the Cult Membership Card (but am not a "real" Cultist) and a card tells me to become a Cultist and there IS a Cultist card already in the discards, can I just say, "I'm already a Cultist, so that doesn't apply," and so escape?
That one sort of depends on the card text. If a card just says to 'become a Cultist', then you would become a real one and lose the ability to use the Cult Membership Card unless you can find a way to lose your Cultist Class. If the card said 'if you are not already a Cultist, become a Cultist', then you would be able to claim you are one and thus would not need to become one; although if the same card said something else happens instead if you are a Cultist, then you must choose if you want to suffer that effect or to take the Cultist card.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 11:34 PM   #6
ProfessorBrains
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munchkinator View Post

If I have the Cult Membership Card (but am not a "real" Cultist) and a card tells me to become a Cultist and there IS a Cultist card already in the discards, can I just say, "I'm already a Cultist, so that doesn't apply," and so escape?
I don't think this is answered yet, I think that interpretation would hinge on saying "one of the benefits of being a cultist is you don't become a cultist when a card tells you to." Doesn't sound reasonable to me, I think you'd have to become a cultist even though you have a Cult Membership Card.

What's the Official Verdict?
ProfessorBrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 11:40 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfessorBrains View Post
What's the Official Verdict?
Clipper's interpretation is correct.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:39 PM   #8
Jack Of Clubs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Something along the same tack that came up at one of our games:
If there is a Cultist card in the (Cultist) discard pile, and somebody wants to become a Cultist "just because", can they do so?
(I ruled no, but the guy whined about it pretty bad.)
Jack Of Clubs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:52 PM   #9
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Of Clubs View Post
Something along the same tack that came up at one of our games:
If there is a Cultist card in the (Cultist) discard pile, and somebody wants to become a Cultist "just because", can they do so?
(I ruled no, but the guy whined about it pretty bad.)
I'm assuming he's trying to become one by playing a card that says to become one? If yes, then you were correct. If he had a Cultist card in his hand then he could have played it and became a Cultist.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 12:29 AM   #10
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu

Yeah, you can't just take a Cultist card out of the discards to become one without a card that tells you to become a Cultist.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.