Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 12:57 AM   #1
Eclipse412
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Annihilation

Played Dogpile on a monster. Everyone dropped a monster card. Then someone dropped a bedridden card. Friend dropped annihilation card on the dogpile card.

So question here is does all the monster cards discard?
Eclipse412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 01:20 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Annihilation

No. Dogpile isn't even a target for Annihilation at that point as it should have been discarded after it resolved when all the monsters were added. Annihilation can only be played on cards that have just been played or cards that are in play.

Note that if the player had chosen to use Annihilation while or just after people were adding monsters, it would cancel Dogpile and everybody would take the monsters back into their respective hands.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 10:34 PM   #3
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Annihilation

I don't disagree with your outcome in general, but I wouldn't move Dogpile to the discards until the combat was over. The reason being that there are cards that can completely reset the combat and return ALL cards played during the combat to the original owners' hands. But yes, once the monsters are played because of the Dogpile and you move on, Annihilation on the Dogpile would just remove the card from the game without affecting the monsters played.

Actually, come to think about it, if you used Annihiliation on Dogpile while monsters were being played, the monsters already played should probably remain, but no additional monsters should be played once the Dogpile card is gone...
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:09 AM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Annihilation

Quote:
Originally Posted by offsides View Post
I don't disagree with your outcome in general, but I wouldn't move Dogpile to the discards until the combat was over. The reason being that there are cards that can completely reset the combat and return ALL cards played during the combat to the original owners' hands. But yes, once the monsters are played because of the Dogpile and you move on, Annihilation on the Dogpile would just remove the card from the game without affecting the monsters played.
What I'm saying is that Dogpile is no longer considered in play once its effect has resolved. Annihilation can be used to remove a card that is in play, or to cancel and remove a card which has just been played. As Dogpile is no longer in play after resolving, it couldn't be targeted.

Quote:
Actually, come to think about it, if you used Annihiliation on Dogpile while monsters were being played, the monsters already played should probably remain, but no additional monsters should be played once the Dogpile card is gone...
If played with this timing, Annihilation is cancelling the card which has just been played (Dogpile). Cancelling means the card has no effect, so any monsters played so far would return to their owners' hands.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
annihilation, dogpile

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.