Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013, 06:08 AM   #1
pupvogel
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Klecken
Default Munchkin Apocalypse Seals question...

Hi all !

I just signed up to find an answer for this, we had a very munchkinlike struggle about this yesterday 8o) :

Ok, a seal was opened that hurts scientists, now our two scientists said "Ok, I'm no scientist anymore" and put away that class.

Well, now we non-scientists couldn't help but think they can put down their cards - but they still MUST suffer from the immediate bad stuff, because they were scientists the moment the seal was opened.

Of course I know that you can put down classes and races whenever you like to - but in this case it's just too late, is it not ??

This just cries so out for a clarification, so thanks for your help !!
pupvogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:20 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Apocalypse Seals question...

No takebacks -- they were Scientists when the Seal opened, so they each lose a level.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:56 AM   #3
pupvogel
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Klecken
Default Re: Munchkin Apocalypse Seals question...

I hoped you'd say that...thanks !!
pupvogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:17 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Apocalypse Seals question...

As a general rule in Munchkin, actions resolve immediately. There's no window for "wait, this hurts Scientists, so I don't want to be one anymore." The exceptions are for ongoing effects, such as a monster's bonus against a Class -- it's legal to discard the Class to deny the monster the bonus -- and for cards that explicitly say they cancel an effect, such as Safety Dance in Apocalypse.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apocalypse, class, curse, race, seal

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.