Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 11:32 PM   #1
Sigma88
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Clerical Error after combat?

Ok, i believe i may have cheated but here's what happened.

I had Clerical Error in my hand and one of my friends just kicked down the door. He couldn't beat it but used like 2 items to win the battle. After the battle is over, right before he drew treasures i played Clerical Error to animate the same monster he just fought. Was this even possible? I was just assuming that maybe if you can play wandering monster right after the monster is beaten you can perhaps play curses, even if it isn't the same clerical error or cards that affect treasure amounts, etc.
Sigma88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 12:41 AM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Clerical Error after combat?

Provided the card/s that defeated the monster didn't end the combat (e.g., if he used Pollymorph Potion), then it was a valid play to curse him after the card is resolved but before the end of combat. He needs to provide reasonable time to actually win the combat and the monster is already discarded at that point, so it counts as being in the discards for the purposes of Curse! Clerical Error.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:49 PM   #3
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Clerical Error after combat?

I may be wrong, but he may be referring to boosting his combat strength by using 2 one-shot items. If that is the case, then he actually killed the monster and combat is over, correct?
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 06:29 PM   #4
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Clerical Error after combat?

Indeed, Curse! Clerical Error would not be playable after he killed the monster normally by increasing his combat strength. Wandering Monster could not be played after killing the monster normally, so I made the assumption that Sigma88 was talking about methods of instantly defeating the monster.

Of course, in the case that Sigma88 was meaning the use of cards that altered Combat Strength, both of these cards would be playable within the reasonable time the player must give before killing the monster.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.