Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 12:47 AM   #1
ekovv
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Default What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

We were playing with 3 people total. Two of us were at level 9, and my friend was an Atomic Zombie, which has the fire/flame damage. He kicked open the door and drew a monster which is automatically killed by fire/flame, but I used the Wandering Monster card and put down a level 20 with a bunch of enhancements that he couldn't beat. So would he get the level and win from the first monster even though I threw out another while he was in combat?
ekovv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:55 AM   #2
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

I believe that he would win right then, because you always get the level when you kill a monster (unless another card says otherwise). It might have to wait until combat technically ends, but I'm pretty sure he wins either way.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:10 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

I'm sorry, but you're wrong there, Blaz. You only get the level if you win the combat. The unbreakable rules section of the rules makes that clear:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rules
3. You cannot collect rewards for defeating a monster (e.g., Treasure, levels) in the middle of a combat. You must finish the fight before gaining any rewards.
I've seen it officially ruled that way too in a few threads.

Playing a Wandering Monster in this situation is a totally valid way to stop the win.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:07 AM   #4
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

Your quote only says you have to finish the combat not win it. I was basing that thought on a ruling made relatively recently that if you auto defeat a monster when other monsters are present, and someone steals the combat with a Transferral Potion, you still get the level for the monster you auto killed, regardless of the outcome of the combat. Did a quick search and couldn't find it, but you may remember which one I'm talking about.
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:20 AM   #5
Morgul_Maggot
 
Morgul_Maggot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Missouri
Default Re: What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

Had to use a little "search-fu", but I think this will help:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
You never get any rewards from a combat unless you kill, drive off, etc. ALL monsters in the combat.
from this thread:

http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=50757
__________________
*Older Than Pong!*
Morgul_Maggot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:21 AM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

It works with Transferral Potion because your combat never ended. If you lose, you get nothing, as shown in that thread linked by Morgul_Maggot (thanks).
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:08 AM   #7
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: What would happen here? (Multiple Monsters)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazinjsin View Post
Your quote only says you have to finish the combat not win it. I was basing that thought on a ruling made relatively recently that if you auto defeat a monster when other monsters are present, and someone steals the combat with a Transferral Potion, you still get the level for the monster you auto killed, regardless of the outcome of the combat. Did a quick search and couldn't find it, but you may remember which one I'm talking about.
You'd still have to wait for the other combat to end before you got your rewards. So, if the other players could somehow win against any remaining Monsters and also gain the winning Level, shared victory. But, again, this is the 101 forum, which is not the home for significant debates and rules bickering. Given the exact situation that the OP asked about: It was a legal play to attempt to stop the player in combat from winning immediately. If he defeats the Monster, either by killing it or removing it legally in such a way that doesn't count as losing the combat, then he gets the winning Level.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
atomic zombie, fire, flame, multiple monsters, zombies

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.