Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 09:36 PM   #1
Paull51878
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default a few questions from a newbie

Hello everyone

I just started playing Munchkin last week and I have to say I love it.

I just have 2 questions:

1) If I buy every Munchkin Game, like Munchkin 2,3,4,5,6,7,8 , are those all to be played seperately or do I combine them with the original Munchkin game? Im confused

If I buy Munchkin Zombies 1,2,3, same as above, do I play each seperate or combine them? Can other games such as Zombies be played with the original Munchkin?

2) I recently bought a package of the Munchkin Pawn figures pack of 6. The card it comes with states "Any time you are entitled to go up a level or when you do something that WOULD earn you a level if you weren't already Level 9 you may, instead, place a munchkin pawn in front of you. In any combat, you may discard it for a 1d6 bonus. You may only have one in front of you at a time. Unless, of course, you "lose" these rules and tell the other players that you're allowed to have more. Six is a good number."

What do they mean by in any combat you may discard it for a 1d6 bonus? I have no idea what a 1d6 bonus is

Thank you all for your time and have a great day

Paul
Paull51878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 10:38 PM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: a few questions from a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paull51878 View Post
1) If I buy every Munchkin Game, like Munchkin 2,3,4,5,6,7,8 , are those all to be played seperately or do I combine them with the original Munchkin game? Im confused
All te expansions just add carts to the game. There is no deckibuilding in Munchkin, just put the expansions together with the basic set, shuffle, and enjoy a bunch of different cards.
Quote:
If I buy Munchkin Zombies 1,2,3, same as above, do I play each seperate or combine them? Can other games such as Zombies be played with the original Munchkin?
Same with any new game. Zombies 2-3 are to be used with Munchkin Zombies. You can mix multiple, different games, such as Munchkin, Zombies and Star, for crazy games. It's a fun variation of the game. If you do mix multiple games, Munchkin 7 - More Good Cards, is a nice addition to the game.

Quote:
What do they mean by in any combat you may discard it for a 1d6 bonus? I have no idea what a 1d6 bonus is
You roll the dice (d6 is the 6-sided dice) and you get a bonus equal to the number you rolled.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:11 AM   #3
Paull51878
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: a few questions from a newbie

Thank you very much for the reply. What kind of bonus does it give me? +1 to my combat level?
Thanks
Paul
Paull51878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:25 AM   #4
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: a few questions from a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paull51878 View Post
Thank you very much for the reply. What kind of bonus does it give me? +1 to my combat level?
Thanks
Paul
No, you gain a bonus equal to the number rolled. It could be +1 up to +6
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:01 AM   #5
Paull51878
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: a few questions from a newbie

I'm do sorry to keep bothering but I'm real confused and don't know what you mean by bonus. What exactly kind of bonus does it give me?
So if I roll a 4, I get a bonus but what does this bonus do? What do I use it for?


Thank you again
Paul-very confused
Paull51878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:02 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: a few questions from a newbie

You add the number rolled to your combat strength - so if you are Level 4 and roll a 3, that's a total of 7. You compare that to the monster's combat strength to see if you kill it or not.

I suggest watching the Flash demo; it might help you grasp what's going on.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:11 AM   #7
Paull51878
 
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: a few questions from a newbie

Thank you, I completely understand now
Paull51878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.