Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2013, 04:31 AM   #1
endril
 
endril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Hi,

Please help us with the following two points of discussion (Munchkin, 23rd reprint):

1. Can the Wandering Monster card be used after the player in combat has declared that he/she wishes to start Running Away from the existing monster in the room, or once Running Away starts combat is considered to be over? What about if he/she has already rolled the Running Away dice from that existing monster?

2. Can the Wandering Monster card be used after the player in combat has Charmed (the class was Wizard) the existing Monster, or does that count as the combat being over? Considering the below answer, I'd say that Wandering Monster can be played, but a confirmation would be great to have since Charm is not a passive option, but an active one and requires discarding the entire hand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Progmode View Post
If a players auto-kills/defeats the monster via something like the Wizard's Charm, then you can still play Wandering Monster and the player only has to fight that one monster since the other has already been removed.

In the event that a player is beating a monster in levels/bonuses, then the other players can play a Wandering Monster and the player is now fighting both monsters.

However, the other players cannot allow you to defeat the first monster normally (with levels and bonuses), then wander in a new monster. At that point, the combat is over.
Thank you very much in advance!
__________________
Better sorry than safe :P
endril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:22 AM   #2
StormCrow42
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Concord, NC
Default Re: Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Once you've started to run away, the combat is over, there is no place to add additional monsters.

Unless they say so, cards or abilities that simply remove one monster from combat don't prevent you from adding another wandering monster. Generally a card that removes all monsters from combat will prevent you from doing so however (out to lunch, etc.)
__________________
Scott K. Ellis
StormCrow42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:48 AM   #3
endril
 
endril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Quote:
Originally Posted by StormCrow42 View Post
Once you've started to run away, the combat is over, there is no place to add additional monsters.

Unless they say so, cards or abilities that simply remove one monster from combat don't prevent you from adding another wandering monster. Generally a card that removes all monsters from combat will prevent you from doing so however (out to lunch, etc.)
Thanks, so that is to say we can't use Wandering Monster after the player has decided to run, but we can use it after Charm, correct?
__________________
Better sorry than safe :P
endril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:58 AM   #4
Blazinjsin
 
Blazinjsin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default Re: Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Quote:
Originally Posted by endril View Post
Thanks, so that is to say we can't use Wandering Monster after the player has decided to run, but we can use it after Charm, correct?
That is correct
__________________
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻ I am King of Munchkin Mountain!!!

Check out my trades ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡) 🍕
Blazinjsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:30 AM   #5
endril
 
endril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Thank you very much, we really appreciate it!
__________________
Better sorry than safe :P
endril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:31 AM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazinjsin View Post
That is correct
This one has come up quite a bit, so we put it in the FAQ a few years back. It's actually mentioned twice, in Important Clarification #3, and with this question:

Quote:
Originally Posted by The FAQ
Q. Some cards say they automatically defeat a certain type of Monster (like the Potion of Halitosis and the Floating Nose, or the Churninator and Level 1 monsters). Can anyone interfere with this? Can anyone play a Wandering Monster?
A. You may have automatically defeated the monster in question, but your fellow munchkins still have a reasonable time to respond. They probably cannot do anything to help the now-defeated monster, but they can still wander in a new one for you to fight. (But if the monster had special "bring in a friend" rules, such as Undead and Bats, you cannot use those rules, because the original monster is no longer there.)
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:52 AM   #7
endril
 
endril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Wandering Monster being used when Running Away or after Wizard's Charm

Thank you Erik, although I've read the FAQ last week this rule had slipped my mind. Much appreciated!
__________________
Better sorry than safe :P
endril is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charm, running away, wandering monster

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.