Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 02:39 AM   #1
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

Comrade Balthus card says that I counts as a Warrior. Does it mean I can use Warrior ability? Or it is just only about monsters reaction?
And can I use "not for Warrior" items myself, when Balthus is in combat.

The same thing about other Comrades and other Class/Birthright.
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.

Last edited by Moldon; 12-03-2012 at 06:07 AM.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:24 AM   #2
chrismalenurse
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Akron, Ohio area
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

They count for monster reaction and if they say they can carry items for you then they may carry "usable by warrrior only" items. It does not give you the "abilities".
chrismalenurse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:36 AM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

chrismalenurse, I think you might be partially wrong about the Comrades. The cards do mention stuff about counting yourself as various classes. Comrade: Balthus, for example, makes you count yourself as a Warrior. I think this means you can use Warrior-only Items and can't use Items that can't be used by Warriors. Reactions of monsters do still count too, of course. You can also choose to omit Comrades from the combat if they would cause the monsters to be powered up, though.

I might be reading to much into the wording of counting as a Warrior, though...
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:12 AM   #4
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

if it were written "monsters react to you as a Warrior", I would not have issues.

but what exactly meant "you counts as a Warrior"?

I hope for an official answer.
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:54 AM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

Yeah, it might actually be the case that you get the abilities too, now that I think about it. The Casting Couch means you are treated like a Wizard, which gives you access to the Wizard abilities.

Is counting as a Class the same as being treated as a Class? I'm not sure... I do doubt they are the same, as the intent of that text on the Comrades seems more to just be referring to monster reactions, given the way the rules describe them. It would also mean you need to remember what all the abilities of all the Classes are, as they aren't written on the Comrade cards (which is something I hate about Casting Couch, but it's in the FAQ).
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 12-03-2012 at 07:01 AM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:25 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

Comrades do not give you Class abilities such as Berserking or the Charm Spell.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:17 PM   #7
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

thusly, the phrase "You counts as a Warrior" should be read as "Monsters react to you as a Warrior" or "Monsters react to him as a Warrior?"
Maybe this is errata?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:21 PM   #8
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

It's not errata, because you can still use Class-only Itens.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:01 PM   #9
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Comrades and abilities ( Conan)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
It's not errata, because you can still use Class-only Itens.
I'm not sure about that any more either. Upon rereading the card, I notice that Comrade: Balthus only makes you count yourself as a Warrior if he is in the combat. That means, by literal interpretation, that outside combat, you are not counted as a Warrior, and you cannot equip items that only a Warrior can use outside of combat.

I agree it's not errata, though. Just perhaps an ambiguous term.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.