Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2012, 12:14 PM   #1
cyril88
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Question about combat

I just had a quick question about combat and asking someone for help since me and my friends were debating this a bit;

when fighting a monster and another player puts down a modifier card on that monster, am I able to for help afterwards? Or do I have to ask for help beforehand.

Ex I'm level 5 and fighting a level 1 monster, someone increases their combat power to 11, can I ask for help then? Or do I have to ask for help when the monster is level 1
cyril88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Question about combat

The conditions required for you to ask for help are that you are currently losing the combat and that you do not already have a helper. You can do this at any stage when those two conditions exist.

Thus, in your example, you can ask for and gain help after the monster was buffed to 11, but you cannot even ask for help when its combat strength is 1.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by Clipper; 12-08-2012 at 04:08 PM.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 12:55 PM   #3
wildbreloom
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default Re: Question about combat

follow up question:

There is one card where you have to find out if you will have help first and then roll the die and if you get a six the monster becomes that one bunny from the movie. It is ordinarily level 2 I think but on a six it becomes 15. If I am not losing before I roll am I allowed to ask for help as insurance? Normally we aren't and I realize this is a specific instance but it came up the other night so I thought I would ask.
wildbreloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 12:57 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Question about combat

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildbreloom View Post
follow up question:

There is one card where you have to find out if you will have help first and then roll the die and if you get a six the monster becomes that one bunny from the movie. It is ordinarily level 2 I think but on a six it becomes 15. If I am not losing before I roll am I allowed to ask for help as insurance? Normally we aren't and I realize this is a specific instance but it came up the other night so I thought I would ask.
Because the card specifically says you can ask for help, you may do so, even if you wouldn't normally need the help.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.